Master key - Fiat Marea 2.0 Weekend

Currently reading:
Master key - Fiat Marea 2.0 Weekend

davethehorse

New member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
46
Location
Derby, United Kingdom.
I have recently bought a Fiat Marea estate car but only found out after purchasing that the car needs a master key to get further keys cut. The car was only supplied with a blue slave key. Can the ECU be reprogrammed by third parties ie not Fiat.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Dave
 

CentoEvo

New member
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
1,717
Location
..anywhere upto 8600rpm!
Does it definetley need a red key?
Seicentos have the master key and slave blue key in one, if you look on your key and see a symbol, a triangle with two semi circles coming out of it with a 2 underneath, then you don't.
Don't know if this is any use to you, i thought i'd post it anyway.
I have heard that replacement Red keys from Fiat are around £500![:0] but not 100% sure

"The Not so Fast but Furious"
 

Derek

New member
Joined
Mar 5, 2003
Messages
17
Location
Barnsley, United Kingdom.
Hi Dave,
I had the same trouble when I bought my "almost new" Punto in 1996. I never did get a red key, but any self respecting key cutting heel bar can copy the blue one and it costs about 25 notes!:) I also found that if I broke a blue key, I could get a plain one cut and tape the Chip from the broken one to it......works a treat too and 20 quid cheaper :D:D:D Maybe your Marea keys will work the same eh?
See yah...Derek


Barnsley Tyke.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2003
Messages
3,344
Location
Newcastle - upon - Tyne
Timpsons will clone your blue key for about £20-£25.

You only need the red key if you have to reprogram the ECU.

Dave. :)

Marea HLX 2.0 20v
<h6>FIATcentral window sticker, silver poppy coral, titanium tax disc.
:)Blue Momo Tomahawk Gear Knob :)
Blue gaiters, Blue sidelights, Blue interior lights, Blue lacquer on engine, feeling blue ;)
Ecotek fitted, removed and waiting for warm weather
So much to do, so little time.... and Totally Skint!! :(</h6>
 

Dannywooly

New member
Joined
Feb 16, 2004
Messages
5
Location
United Kingdom.
Hi All

I have the same problem my Blue keys Switch is not working, think it is missing. Key in fine condition apart for it!

Is there anyway i can just fix this key?

Cheers

Danny
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2003
Messages
3,344
Location
Newcastle - upon - Tyne
Hi,

I think you may need the red key to add new keys to the immobiliser. My manual says that it is a dealer job after the first keys have been programmed.

See my other reply to your query about repairing keys. It may be worth trying to short the switch out to see if the key works before trying to find a new switch.

<h5><font color="black">Dave. :)
Marea HLX 2.0 20v
</h5><h6>Airbox with attitude[8D]
Blue Momo Tomahawk Gear Knob, Blue stuff ;)
Ecotek fitted, removed and waiting for warm weather. Only getting 23.5mpg
So much to do, so little time.... and Totally Skint!! :(</h6></font id="black">
 

dave

******
Joined
Aug 10, 2003
Messages
125,248
Location
Essex/Suffolk border
origaly posted by fiatexpert
Firstly.. Insert Red key Into Ingtion And turn to 'Mar' make sure code light goes out, then remove red key and insert blue key and turn on, make sure code light goes out, Does this with all keys your have, then finally insert the red key again and turn on to mar and make sure the code light goes out. Hey Presto Keys now coded into code system.( Each key Must be inserted no more than 10 seconds behind each other)..

Secondly... The special code for the plip on you new key is for programming the remote, but you need one of the old codes of the other plips before a new remote can be programmed.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please do not Email or PM me asking for support. Post on the forums instead. Your reply may help someone else. Thank you
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2003
Messages
3,344
Location
Newcastle - upon - Tyne
Thanks Dave, just dug my manual out.

It also says:

"If extra remote controls are requested in addition to the ones originally supplied, remember to carry out the same programming procedure for all the remote controls when the car is new.

The control unit will subsequently exclude this type of programming to prevent anyone else programming the control unit to 'acknowledge' another remote control.

If, therefore, you ever need a new remote control, go to your nearest Fiat Dealership taking with you the burgundy key, all the keys in your possession, plus the CODE card." :(

<h5><font color="black">Dave. :)
Marea HLX 2.0 20v
</h5><h6>Airbox with attitude[8D]
Blue Momo Tomahawk Gear Knob, Blue stuff ;)
Ecotek fitted, removed and waiting for warm weather. Only getting 23.5mpg
So much to do, so little time.... and Totally Skint!! :(</h6></font id="black">
 
Top