Technical Knocking sound from underneath

Currently reading:
Technical Knocking sound from underneath

sdobri

There is knocking noise (metal to metal) coming from my MK2 Punto, it is most noticeable when turning right. It is comming from either rear or central part of car(sounds more like from central but realy can't tell), definitly not from front. Knocking stops when I pull handbrake just slightly. Bought my Punto a month ago, and noise just showed up yesterday. I tried to shake a exhaust but couldn't produce any sound at all. Transmision is automatic CVT, Punto 1.2 16V Speedgear CVT. I susspect that rear brake shoe is broken or there is something wrong with handbrake cable. Any ideas?

"Knocking stops when I pull handbrake just slightly..."
I think this eliminates wheel bearing. I'm new to Fiats, but from my expirience, wheel bearing rather produce grinding than "clunk".

Hey, I don't know much about cars either. I have a cinq sporting and it has been clunking when I go over potholes etc. Garage told me it was a loose wheel bearing, but it turns out the brake pads they fitted aren't retracting properly, so the wheel isn't going round as freely as it should, hence the clunk.

Have changed quite a few wheel bearings and I agree with you they make a grinding, but I thought you had a metal on metal sound.

"I thought you had a metal on metal sound..."
It is a metal on metal sound, just hitting not grinding.
"...it turns out the brake pads they fitted aren't retracting properly"
Could be something like this in my case to, although I didn't renew my brakes yet. Maybe they are totally worn out, I didn't checked this and also have no car service history.

sdobri said:
"I thought you had a metal on metal sound..."
It is a metal on metal sound, just hitting not grinding.
"...it turns out the brake pads they fitted aren't retracting properly"