Technical Jumpy and jerky running

Currently reading:
Technical Jumpy and jerky running

You could be right there!

That sounds plausible, but thinking about it, is it not be better for the resistance to be higher, therefore the older lambda has a higher or 'better' ohms reading meaning the newer lambda is the fault?

Correct me if that makes no sense or is totally incorrect :D

To say I have an engineering degree, I just can't get my head around that one... -- you may, however, find this page enlightening... -- oh (edit), and this one...! (y)

Would you be leaning towards a second new lambda aswell then to replace the 'tardis' one ;)

Almost to the point of falling over.... ;)

Three reasons:
  1. You can compare old-new with new-new: i.e. is the resistance the same; does it cause the same error? :confused:
  2. You have three lambdas to play with, to see which combo works best -- especially if you can finally get their voltages plotted as live data. :cool:
  3. As they used to say on Antiques Roadshow, "they're worth more as a pair" -- and I just have a gut feeling that two new (hopefully identical) ones may work better together than an odd mix. :rolleyes:

Last edited:
What type of sensor is it? Does the ecu sense resistance or voltage from the lambda sensor? If it is resistance, it will probably be based on resistance change rather than absolute value. Iirc, it's voltage, so not sure of the value of the resistance measurement.

Edit: ignore me, tired, read back, see you're checking heater resistance now.

You were right, though: it is voltage... -- I think KRaikkonenNo1 is only checking resistances to while away the time until he has a way of measuring the voltages (and it's as good a way of testing them as any -- if not the best...). ;)

Last edited: