Technical Intermittent Starting Problem

Currently reading:
Technical Intermittent Starting Problem

do you know how to get to those bolts?

total novice
there is only 1 bolt holding the relay once you remove the black plastic cover i think its a 10mm nut holding it and you should be able to remove connector fairly easy

yeah i meant removing the black cover, there are two holes and sunk down there are two bolts as my video shows in the first 5 or so seconds

Last edited:
i am pretty sure they are bolts but will look tomorrow
had to abandon car at work

they are just philips head screws as im sick of tinkering under my bonnet i get very bored lol

right well will see does some tinkering get it going or as usual it might just come back to life by itself. tht relay will take a week from ebay too. so will update
cheers for all your help and tips, lets see have you solved the mystery!

well i know of a good few mk1s that had the relay replaced for various reasons lyk hopefully it will fix that problem lyk

Reason relays buzz is because not enough power to operate i.e less than 12v, if engine not turning over has to be on ignition / starter circuit, which is ignition switch and all battery / engine feeds and earths.
I still suspect ignition switch or engine earth. Jump lead needs to be connected from battery negative to any metal part of the engine, for example the cam cover.

ok looking for some advice here

got road side assistance out, he checked all the voltages and earths said everything was fine from turning the key and battery positive terminal etc and earths fine..so reckons it has to be the starter motor. he gave me a tow and got it started got it home, turned off engine, tried to start again, same deal - absolutley nothing.

i went to my mechanic who in July "removed the (recon) starter motor" put it back in and hey presto everything worked. i told him this time i want a new starter motor
He quoted me £160 for a new starter motor incl labour and VAT