I need computer help!!!!

Currently reading:
I need computer help!!!!

Babysei

BabyPunto Owner
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
3,853
Location
Nr Coventry
Hello Guys & Gals:D,

I know that this may sound like a strange request:I but I have been given a free scannner by a mate;), there is no instruction booklet or disk with it..just the scanner and connection cable.

i really wanna post a picture of me & my car on the site but i dunno if i can use a scanner to do this!!! do i need to install some software to run it?? if yes where the hell do i get it from?

boo hoo my knowledge of computers is very small ;)

any help would be gladly appreciated xxxxxxx

baby [:X]

The One & only xxx
 

ben

The Boss
Staff member
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
19,078
Location
Kaohsiung
Whats the make / model and what version of windows you got... should be quite simple once we got all the details...

could it be true, we will finally see the one and only babysei?!?

.... watch this space


ben

bravo 1.6sx
momo twin 17" alloys
k&n 57i induction
toad mp4 2-1 upgrade
fully debadged
smoked front headlights
black/clear side repeaters
rear lights tint sprayed black
full midnight window tint (front/back/sunstrip)
 

HP

I was only doing 80...
Joined
Mar 22, 2002
Messages
13,429
Location
North East
ooohhh! I'm trembling with antici....






.......pation!

Pete.
Cinq sporting 1242cc
http://mysite.freeserve.com/close_to_cracking_up/
 

steveyensen

Top beagle and Panda mod
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
1,705
Location
Nottingham
Baby,

Also we'll need to know if it's SCSI, parallel (printer) port or USB.

What kind of cable is it? If it has a 25-pin plug on each end then we can rule out USB ...

A SCSI scanner usually has two 25-way sockets on the back, and maybe a little rotary switch saying 'SCSI ID'. If it IS SCSI, you'll need a card to plug in the PC.

A scanner designed to plug in the printer port has only one 25-pin socket on it (I think) ...

You have a power lead too?

Cheers,
Steve

panda3.jpg

1989 Fiat Panda 1000CL
Electronic Distributor
Lots'n'lots'n'lots of RUST!
Copper brake pipes
Currently immobile with a knackered gearbox
Replacement 5-speed 'box in garage ready to fit ...
 
OP
OP
Babysei

Babysei

BabyPunto Owner
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
3,853
Location
Nr Coventry
rite..you have all totally confused me now!!! hehehe!!

I have a scanner that has two ports in the back..one says printer, one says host, the scanner is a primax colorado D600...(means nothing to me)!!!

I have a compaq laptop running windows 98 on it....

The One & only xxx
 

ben

The Boss
Staff member
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
19,078
Location
Kaohsiung
ok baby, here you go, this is the driver:

http://www.primax.nl/drivers/colorado_epp_30bit/win9598/p30_en98.exe

and any information you may need is at:

http://www.primax.nl/sup_col_d600.htm

So c'mon, no excuses now, get those photos scanned :)

oh, and yeah, u do have the power adapter right> :D


ben

bravo 1.6sx
momo twin 17" alloys
k&n 57i induction
toad mp4 2-1 upgrade
fully debadged
smoked front headlights
black/clear side repeaters
rear lights tint sprayed black
full midnight window tint (front/back/sunstrip)
 
OP
OP
Babysei

Babysei

BabyPunto Owner
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
3,853
Location
Nr Coventry
ben ... ur fab xxxx

yep i do have the mains!!!

will try this as soon as i get bak 2nite...will be about 9.30pm...then i will be online!!

The One & only xxx
 

steveyensen

Top beagle and Panda mod
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
1,705
Location
Nottingham
Okay, it's a parallel (printer) port thingie.

Plug one end of the cable into the 'host' socket on the scanner, and the other one into the 'printer' socket of your laptop.

Plug your printer cable into the 'printer' socket of the scanner, and Robert is your father's brother!

Not forgetting to install the driver that Ben has found for you ...

Sorry to state what could be blatantly obvious to some people, so if I'm insulting you by saying this then please accept my apologies, and I'll do a penance by walking one mile around the block carrying my Panda gearbox!

Cheers,
Steve.

panda3.jpg

1989 Fiat Panda 1000CL
Electronic Distributor
Lots'n'lots'n'lots of RUST!
Copper brake pipes
Currently immobile with a knackered gearbox
Replacement 5-speed 'box in garage ready to fit ...
 

steveyensen

Top beagle and Panda mod
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
1,705
Location
Nottingham
Not for scanning. But what do you do when you want to print something? Oh yes, take the documents to work on floppy and use the work printer, I'll bet. :) I'm guilty of that too.

Happy scanning!

Cheers,
Steve!

<blockquote id="quote"> face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">Originally posted by Babysei
thing is steve..i dont have a printer...do i need one??

The One & only xxx
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote">
 

steveyensen

Top beagle and Panda mod
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
1,705
Location
Nottingham
I take it from that gorgeous photo that you have your scanner working now?

Steve!

panda3.jpg

1989 Fiat Panda 1000CL
Electronic Distributor
Lots'n'lots'n'lots of RUST!
Copper brake pipes
Currently immobile with a knackered gearbox
Replacement 5-speed 'box and new QH clutch in garage ready to fit ...
 
OP
OP
Babysei

Babysei

BabyPunto Owner
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
3,853
Location
Nr Coventry
well it seems to scan the picture and then freeze the whole computer..boo hoo ;)

The One & only xxx
 

steveyensen

Top beagle and Panda mod
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
1,705
Location
Nottingham
Oh dear. Without seeing it "in the flesh" so to speak it is difficult to suggest what's happening ...

I'll have a look at the info Ben has provided and see if I can suggest anything. In the meantime I have a project to finish before I go home (isn't overnight working wonderful?) ... time to make another pint of coffee!

Zzzzzz ....
Steve
 
Top