Technical high pitched whistling

Currently reading:
Technical high pitched whistling

tigeroullie

hi folks i am a complete beginner with cars and hubby usually deals with our brava 1.2 trofeo 2000 w reg but this has us stumped. once the car is warmed up there is a high pitched noise coming from the engine bay when the car is idling, revving the engine makes it go away but not for long. the weird thing is this happens more so in the winter months. it is also intermittant but is very loud. any ideas.
great forum found out how to set the clock so going to see if it works. hope to hear from someone soon. thanx (y)
p.s fully serviced from day one with fiat approved dealers

hi thanx for the prompt reply, it is mostly coming from the driver side and yes arnold clark are the service centre. funnily enough hubby said he is not taking it back now the warranty is over as he was not convinced they had performed a proper service. but for warranty purposes we had to comply.

Hi

And welcome, if it sounds like a dry, squeaking noise; :yuck: in my experience it sounds like it could be a worn or lose drive belt, either alternator, power steering or AC belt{if you have AC}.
Have a look to see if you can see any cracking on the inside of the belts, try and feel for tension of the belts do they feel like they could go a little tighter.
I have a worn belt, which makes this type of noise, try as I do squirting some WD40 or the spray type maintenance oil on to the belts as the engine runs, providing the belts don’t need adjustment this usually shuts them up for a while.
I’ll change mine one day, you know the classic “I’ll do it tomorrow” :rolleyes: