Technical Heater matrix problem

Currently reading:
Technical Heater matrix problem

bpco

I've been hearing "bubble sound" from my heater matrix for 6 months now.
When I removed it from the car I found out that it was clogged with antifreeze mud. Aparently the previous owner had never changed the antifreeze liquid while in his possession. After I cleaned the matrix the sound stopped. Here are some pics :

Attachments

• CIMG0942.zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 84
hi friends!
i've also had a problem with a leaking matrix and my mechanic simply bypassed it.
now i wanted to fix it so i started taking the hole dashboard apart according to Haynes manual but i'm stuck now. i've removed the entire centre console but can't find a way to remove the heater element or any of that...
attached are some pictures...
if anyone could help me in what i need to take apart next... :D

thanks,
Tzvika

Attachments

• car 006.jpg
    car 006.jpg
    130.2 KB · Views: 28
  • car 007.jpg
    car 007.jpg
    162.6 KB · Views: 38
  • car 008.jpg
    car 008.jpg
    157 KB · Views: 31
  • car 010.jpg
    car 010.jpg
    78.9 KB · Views: 30
  • car 009.jpg
    car 009.jpg
    141.9 KB · Views: 34
I'm sure I changed the heater matrix on a mk1 simpy by sliding it out of the side of the heater box in the footwell :confused: I don't remember having to removed the dashboard. Going by your pictures (left hand drive), you should be able to remove it from the passenger footwell :confused: It was so long ago I forget what was involved :eek:

the thing is i think you're suppose to remove the entire housing of the matrix as well, which requires taking out the entire centre console (see the pictures by bpco and you can see the entire housing is out of the car - and that's what i need to do...

Tzvika

I am not familiar with Mk2 central console layout, but on Mk1, the console is attached by 2 extra screws not mentioned in Haynes.