General Head Gasket

Currently reading:
General Head Gasket

Well, people.

Due to the gutless motor (who said they were all like that ;) ) the Plugmobile has been to the garage for a health check. The prognosis isn't good, the head gasket is on its last legs, causing the lumpy idle from a cold start. When it warms up it runs fine (apart from the aforementioned gutlessness) but obviously I don't want to carry on driving it until it goes bang.

But what to do.. the garage reckon anywhere between £200-£400 to fix it, depending on how bad it turns out to be once the head comes off. I'll really find it difficult to justify a £400 bill bearing in mind how much the car's worth, but I think it's too good to scrap.. rust free Pandas with 24,000 miles on the clock being in the same category as rocking horse droppings these days.

So, how big a job is it.. I've never done a head gasket before, my skill with a set of spanners isn't too shabby but I hate working on cars and if it all turns to rats**t half way through I'll probably just get pi**ed off with it and tow it to the crusher.. :(

A very disheartened Plug...

Doing the head gasket yourself is relatively easy, and relatively inexpensive HOWEVER you will need to figure out what caused the head to go in the first place. Once the head is off it will need skimmed and whilst your at it you may as well change the valve stem oil seals, remove the cam and check the shims for wear, regrind the valve seats etc

I'd say it's one of the easiest cylinder heads to do (of the four I've done previously - 903cc Panda and 850 Mini, virtually the same design pushrod engine with lots of messing about setting the valve clearances up again, and two 999 Pandas) There's no need to disturb the valves and camshaft on the 999 Panda, as they remain attached to the head.

The biggest difficulty I had was undoing the head bolt at the centre front as it needed a deep socket which was thinner than anything I had to hand.