General Hand brake drum lever supply

Currently reading:
General Hand brake drum lever supply

balidey

I hold up buses
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
1,107
Location
Spalding, S. Lincs
I am about to order a new set of rear brake shoes for my Cinq Sporting and i need the hand brake operating lever 'thing' as well (the arm that the hand brake cable pulls on). On the shop4parts web site the picture shows the lever and springs in place, but does anyone know if these parts come with the shoes? If the answer is 'it depends where you buy them' then i will have to assume they are not part of the set, so where can i get just the levers?
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2004
Messages
5,167
Location
Kent
balidey said:
I am about to order a new set of rear brake shoes for my Cinq Sporting and i need the hand brake operating lever 'thing' as well (the arm that the hand brake cable pulls on). On the shop4parts web site the picture shows the lever and springs in place, but does anyone know if these parts come with the shoes? If the answer is 'it depends where you buy them' then i will have to assume they are not part of the set, so where can i get just the levers?

if buying from shop4parts, you get the shoes only :) I'd think wherever you order, you'll have to explicitly order the handbrake arm.
 

_CinqueCento_

Breed of our own..
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
269
Location
Somerset, England
Pah! ur lucky if you ever get any part from fiat (for cinquecentos).. Sorry we don't have those instock.. we'll order you one.. YEA LIKE HELL! try it but try ringing them first.. saves a wasted journey..
 

CinqyAbarth

Drives A Red Cinq Abarth
Joined
Apr 6, 2004
Messages
1,624
Location
Brighton
balidey said:
I am about to order a new set of rear brake shoes for my Cinq Sporting and i need the hand brake operating lever 'thing' as well (the arm that the hand brake cable pulls on). On the shop4parts web site the picture shows the lever and springs in place, but does anyone know if these parts come with the shoes? If the answer is 'it depends where you buy them' then i will have to assume they are not part of the set, so where can i get just the levers?

on both mine the levers being stuck failed the MOTs, they just need a good old grease and fiddle with them a bit, pull handbrake up and down to loosen them, done these while replacing both cars' brake shoes and handbrake cables... saves money at end of the day... the MOT garage wanted to do all new rear drums/shoes etc, all it needed was oil on the spring and a bit of a fiddle and they work perfect and passed the next day...

HTH

Craig
 

T14086

Forum Moderator
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
39,859
Location
Preston
About £7 each from dealer,most dealers have them in stock......famous last words:rolleyes:
 
OP
OP
balidey

balidey

I hold up buses
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
1,107
Location
Spalding, S. Lincs
Thanks for the info. Have ordered shoes from my local motor factors, he says Fiat are the best place to get the levers. Tried my local dealer and they need chassis number before they can tell me if they are in stock :bang: so will try them tomorow.
 

rallycinq

Autotest Special
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
24,589
Location
Lake District....Moist
balidey said:
Tried my local dealer and they need chassis number before they can tell me if they are in stock :bang: so will try them tomorow.

If you'd checked the eper you would have noticed a supersession issue with these, so yes, they do actually need your chassis number.

Even if they don't 'need' your chassis number, its always better to have it. There are huge penalties to pay if parts have to be returned to the manufacturer, so they would rather get it right first time.

I know parts departments can be a pain to deal with, but try and help them to help you.

Cheers

D
 

_CinqueCento_

Breed of our own..
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
269
Location
Somerset, England
Hee-hehe.. My MOT is coming up early april.. Ye my handbrake doesn't work at all.. i'm gonna take the system off & wire bush it all up and hammerrite any non-contact faces.. Then attack it with the thickest/best grease i have.. Grrrrrt dollops of it.. Also loads n loads of ppl say about the connection pin to the arm it's self (held in by a split pin) a little bit of movement here is not good & should be replaced if a lil'bit worn.. I'll get mine turned down at work as i pretty much know this is my problem..
 
Top