Florence_Fiat_500.jpg

500 (Classic) Florence Fiat

Introduction

Hi ya

My name is Geoff - I'm a 45 year old ginger bloke from West Yorkshire. I am brand new to the 500 scene and also brand new to the world of forums. So, I suppose you could say I'm a 500 & forum virgin, please be gentle with me. I have been a classic car enthusiast for as long as I can remember and have owned a classic mini for a number of years now. Anyway, I have always loved the 500s and have recently brought a 500R (well I think it's an R) which has recently been imported from Tuscany. As she has lived all her life in sunny Tuscany we have decided to call her Florence - oh the mini is called Milly by the way. Like I've already said, I am new to the 500 scene, so like most people my situation have got loads of questions. This is where I'm hoping you guys can help out! Here are a few pictures of little Florence.

I look forward to buzzing around the beautiful Yorkshire Dales with the kids this summer and it would be great to meet up with some of you for a good old fashioned natter and maybe even a cheeky shandy!

Idleboy08
Reactions: choppa and Camo16
Hi Luxe that for your kind welcome. Like I say I am brand new to the 500 scene so not currently 100% sure what model she is? I was told that she's an 'R' but like I say I'm not sure if thats correct. I have posted some pictures of my engine number and VIN plate (in the Newbie Central section) and I'm hoping somebody with a lot more knowledge that me can help to answers some basic questions - like what model is she? Any information would be really appreciated.

Last edited:
Right - that is very useful. I know the car underwent some bodywork in 2013, so maybe the front panel was changed then? Can you answer any of my other questions e.g. is she a 72 or 73; is there anyway to tell if the engine is original to the car and finally is she the original colour? Any other information would be useful.