flat spots no power

Currently reading:
flat spots no power

M

machine

Hey,
Wonder if any one has had a problem like this.

My car bogs down when i pull away then it randomly kicks the power in. Then sometimes i'll be driving along and when i need to excellarate it feels like i have no power. I've tried dropping gears to get the revs up but it doesn't go any faster. After all this it'll gain its power back and go like a bat out of hell.

I recon it's a sensor fault somewhere. As any one else had this problem?

I've changed the oil, air filter and plugs and it's no different.?

Thanks

Initially sounds like a coil issue or MAF sensor to me (but I aint no expert).

Engine?

im not a mechanic but ive had the same thing with 3 of my previous bravos and every time it been the air-flow meter.

flat spots power

Hi,

it's the bravo 1.6 16v sx 2001 43,000 miles

Is there a MAF on the 1.6? Im sure I remember Tom sying there wasn't.

sensors

Any ideas then guys. If a get a car tuner out will the sensor show up on the fault scanner even the the engine light isnt on?

theres the other thread still going on the HGT oxygen sensor prob, which is just the same. I'd replace the sensor on your exhaust first (cheapest option) then if that dosn't cure it, its gotta be the MAF

maf

so does my car have a MAF sensor. where is it located?

thanks

Mafs round black plastic - about the size of a coffee cup. Connects air hose of similar diameter to top of air filter housing. Easy to swop yourself if you order the part.

Ahh haa!! im having exact same problem, I did what Von said, disconnected my MAF last night & thought i'd try it out, my god!! The extra power is truly amazing! but yes at a cost! :)