Technical Fiat Punto 1242 1999 Fast idle & revs up on its own accord to 3000rpm

Currently reading:
Technical Fiat Punto 1242 1999 Fast idle & revs up on its own accord to 3000rpm

Nobler

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie and didn't know this kind of place existed until I started to search the web about the problem with my wifes car.
Can anyone help?
A while ago the cars idle speed went up to about 1500 rpm. Now whist standing still its idle speed is not steady. It fluctuates between about 1300 to1700 rm. After a while the speed slowly increases to anything between 2500 and 3000 rpm. A quick flick of the gas pedal causes the speed to drop back to 1500 where it then continues to hover between 1300 & 1700rpm. After a short while the process repeats its self. Letting up the cluth to apply drag slows the speed down, when drag is removed, the engine returns to the fast speed.
The garage has charged over £200 (which included interim service) to replace the lambda sensor and temp switch which has made no difference.
They now want to replace something called the "Single Point Injector Stepper Motor" at a cost of £110 for parts.
Does this diagnosis sound correct?
Is there any way I can test/clean it my-self? I have some electronic and auto experience, but I'm the first to admit that I'm not an engineer by any stretch of the imagination.
I don't want to throw another £100+ labour down the drain.
If the diagnosis sounds reasonable, can anyone recommend a supplier on the internet that would be cheaper than a main dealer? Perhaps second hand part.
thanks in advance,
Robert