General Fiat Panda 2006 - Leaving the headlights in position all the time is not an issue?

Currently reading:
General Fiat Panda 2006 - Leaving the headlights in position all the time is not an issue?

Hello everyone,

I’m new to this forum. I’ve followed the threads here out of curiosity and I do end up learning new things about my car. I am a new driver and this is the first vehicle that I own.

However, I have still not found an answer anywhere online to my following question. Here in Bulgaria we’re required to have headlights on during the day (or daylights on for newer cars, but the Panda 169 doesn’t have those). I tend to forget to turn them on, as the previous car I drove did have automatic daylights. But I discovered that leaving the stalk in headlights position is just fine on the Panda, as switching the ignition off automatically turns them off (and the green dashboard icon disappears), until the next time I switch the ignition on and they come up again - just like daylights would in a modern car.

Are there any drawbacks to this? Does this feature cause any battery drain? I would assume it doesn’t, otherwise Fiat would’ve probably put an alarm to remind you to turn the headlights off like on other cars. For the past few weeks I’ve just left them on and I haven’t experienced any issues. Anyone else from a country where the law mandates headlights on during both day and night tried this?

Thanks in advance!

Thanks a lot for the speedy replies!

The car is really well-preserved, we got it used a back in 2013 but it came with everything, all documentation, both keys and interestingly enough, Fiat in Germany (where this one was originally bought from) prints the code for the immobilizer and keys inside the green “Garantie und Serviceheft” book instead of making actual plastic cards.

It’s currently at a little above 89000 KM which is really good for a car of this age (it still *smells* brand new on the inside).