Technical Fiat 500 1.4 16V Engine Noise

Currently reading:
Technical Fiat 500 1.4 16V Engine Noise

Hi all. I'm new to the Fiat 500 Section as I tend to trawl the Fiat Bravo sections but my other half has a Fiat 500 1.4 16V. Now I'm used to driving the Fiat 500 1.2 8V lease cars we have at work and under load the engine seems relatively quite within the cabin. However the 1.4 16V seems to be quite loud when being rev'd and sounding meaner. Is this how it should be or is there sound proofing missing?

Thanks in advance chaps.

It loves to sing! It is no V12 ferrari of course but for 4 cylinders that is as good as it gets!
Take it to 7,000 and hear it then.

So is this normal for the 1.4 16V to have such a loud tone within the car compared to the 1.2 8V?

Yes - we have had a 1.2 and now have the 1.4 Sport

I really like it and if Mrs G would let me I would stick a performance exhasut on to liberate some more noise.....

I have had 2 '500' 1.4 16V. The first with 39K miles (a '08) and currently a 5Kmiles '09 lounge - but they both have the Euro 4 engine.
The older one was bit meaner (it was a sport model) and had been 'driven' by the previous owner. Shocks in the suspension had to be replaced at 38K and despite this 'upgrade' the ride would 'crash'. Initially I put in a K&N air filter - didn't make any difference and then put in a Cold air induction kit from Pipercross - that made a lovely sound and suited the boy racer image of the car but the ECU had to be reset to feel anything 'extra'.
The new one is a bit more civilised, is not as 'loose' but still rasps a bit - it's more mooted but then it's only done 5K miles. I have resisted the temptation to put a CAI on this preferring to spend the money on a performance manifold, which may never happen since 'next year is around the corner'. I feel they improved the sound insulation and ride on the June '09 model but it might just be a case of it not having been thrashed.