Technical fabricating a curved flange for Panda Colour

Currently reading:
Technical fabricating a curved flange for Panda Colour

I am not very good at visualising how to make shapes with sheet steel.
Mrs Codger says it is something about spatial awareness so it must be true!
I am slowly renovating my Panda Colour and have found that the last 2cm of the cross-member (the one that the jacking point sits on) has rotted away.
The rest of the cross member is solid, so I want to basically fix the end of it and re-connect it in to the outer sill/inner sill/floor joint.
I came across a picture from "Kolza" (Jakob?) really great thread some time back,but for some reason I can't upload it tonight.
The end of the cross-member has a flange so that it can be welded to the floor above, and that flange then curves downwards in to the sill/ floor joint.

My question is, how can you make a flange which also curves downwards? Is there a technique?
Sorry in advance for the dim question if the answer is obvious!

Codge

Firstly be brutal cut back the top hat until the metal is consistent in thickness . It’s actually much easeir to fit longer or larger sections fold up the profile of the top hat in a 10cm long section it should just be tight fit if placed over the cross member to create the stretched curved end is a little more difficult at the root of the curve position cut a slit in each side off the top hat so it fold up then weld in place top hat fully with the flap still up then it’s a matter of panel beating down into place as itouches the sill tack weld and go again stretching the flange cutting tacking welding ect clamping welding ect until complete. Or the other option is create tooling to do this in a press. Ok if you need 100 +. Any help there ??? Ps overlap the top hat joint to cross member by 1 cm

Last edited:
IMG_1507529671.246732.jpg
Repair of central cross member
Not too pretty but functional