Engine swaps and engine codes (V5C)

Currently reading:
Engine swaps and engine codes (V5C)

Hello peeps,

Not sure if this is the right place, if not report it and/or move it :)

I have been doing an engine conversion for a while now (3 weeks off the road) and am getting close to starting, so figured I best know what to do about TAX, MOT, insurance, log books and legalities in general :)

I think I have to declare the new engine code to the DVLA so I can get the V5C changed, however, until tonight I didn't think you needed the engine number :eek:

The number on mine is corroded and as much as I've tried, seems to be illegible (mainly the first few numbers)

Does anyone know if I HAVE to declare the new number, any work arounds, or exactly what I need to do :)

I've never done this before I am dreading the fact I may have to swap the engine (£350 plus LOTS of work)

Cheers for any help (y)

Kristian

There are small "bubbles" of rust there and i'm worried if i go too far them may just wear off with nothing underneath, then I'm f**ked lol.

I think I may make a sticky at some point, making sure people are aware of such things....unless it doesn't have to be done and then I'm ok.

I will try some more techniques to clear it up but just looking for more ideas.

Was yours quite legible?

Not going to help but why on earth do they put an important number lightly stamped on a cast iron block :confused: :bang:

Cheers,

Kristian

There are small "bubbles" of rust there and i'm worried if i go too far them may just wear off with nothing underneath, then I'm f**ked lol.

I think I may make a sticky at some point, making sure people are aware of such things....unless it doesn't have to be done and then I'm ok.

I will try some more techniques to clear it up but just looking for more ideas.

Was yours quite legible?

Not going to help but why on earth do they put an important number lightly stamped on a cast iron block :confused: :bang:

Cheers,

Kristian