Technical Engine removal

Currently reading:
Technical Engine removal

Lynne and Mark

Hi we are needing to take the engine out of our fiat ducato 2.8 motorhome to have it rebuilt due to melting the pistons. My husband is a mechanic but never had to do this on this model before. Does anyone know if the gearbox has to be removed before the engine can be taken out?

You can pivot it out in one piece not much easier though by the time youve taken off the driveshafts and dismantled the front of the van. How did ye manage to nelt the pistons diy tuning job?

I have just completed a full engine replacement in my 3 litre Ducato and it is just as easy to remove the motor and box all in one.
As Corcai said, once you disconnect the driveshafts, it's not so bad.
I have never worked on anything like this before and I wouldn't be in any hurry to repeat the experience.
Keep the updates coming and if there are any queries, you'll find plenty of info here.
By the way, the centre drive shaft bearing is retained by 2 bolts and if you aren't aware of them, life will be hell.

I have just completed a full engine replacement in my 3 litre Ducato and it is just as easy to remove the motor and box all in one.
As Corcai said, once you disconnect the driveshafts, it's not so bad.
I have never worked on anything like this before and I wouldn't be in any hurry to repeat the experience.
Keep the updates coming and if there are any queries, you'll find plenty of info here.
By the way, the centre drive shaft bearing is retained by 2 bolts and if you aren't aware of them, life will be hell.

Still only half a carton in time to get it out though errol i even bogged the forklift doing it lol