Technical Doblo drive shafts- removal problem

Currently reading:
Technical Doblo drive shafts- removal problem

serenmor

Hi, I am new to Fiats, having just bought a 2005 Doblo 1.3 diesel Multijet. I am having to replace the drive shafts, so I followed the usual sequence: undo the shaft nut, undo ball joints etc. I had no problem getting the outboard (ie roadwheel end) disconnected, and having done that I thought I was home and dry, and the gearbox end would just slide out. No chance! When I pulled the shaft out it parted company at the boot, so now I have a free drive shaft with the CV joints exposed, and the "cup" which holds the CV joint firmly stuck in the gearbox. This is the same on both shafts.
I have tried pulling the cup and levering it with a screwdriver end, to no avail, and I am scared of causing damage if I use too much force.

I am waiting for new drive shafts to arrive, so I don't know what the gearbox end looks like, but I am assuming the cup is part of the shaft and should come out easily, so what am I doing wrong? The cup on the left side goes straight into the gearbox and I can move it out a few millimetres, on the drivers side it is attached to a shaft which goes into the gearbox. On the driver side it seems firmly attached to this shaft.

I have changed many drive shafts (not on Fiats) and they all just slide out, so I am puzzled by this problem. Is it a Fiat quirk or am I doing something stupid? In desperation I am thinking of leaving the cups in place and exposing the CV joints on the new shafts, then inserting them into the old cups (as I said I don't yet know what the new ones look like.

Thanks in advance if you can help me out with this one.