Technical Cinqucento Stalling Problem..

Currently reading:
Technical Cinqucento Stalling Problem..

Nerveno

Hi everyone!

I did a search but couldn't find a thread about this sorry if there is one.

My Cinquecento runs fine, except when it's temperature seems to go over 90c then it will just die, I have to open the bonnet and let it cool down and even when it reaches 50c it still won't start for a good 10 minutes after.

One of my breather hoses coming from my air filter and going into my engine (forgive my lack of technical knowledge, Im new to cars) is broken, at the moment it's jubilee clipped on with ductape as well. My coolant seems to drain rather quickly too. (Filled it up to max on Friday it was nearly empty this morning.)

The weird thing is this didn't start happening until I took it to have it's CV joints changed. Do you think that the person who did the work might of done something but not bothered to fix it?

Are there any checks you could suggest that I could do that doesn't require to much knowledge about cars (or access to any special equipment).

Thanks for any help you can give me.
Nerveno.

First, and before you go any further, resolve the coolant loss issue. Refill with correct coolant and bleed all the air out.

Run the car looking for the fluid loss, you must find this and resolve it. It might even magically resolve your stalling issue.

Cheers

SPD

Loss of coolant may cause the ECU's temp sensor to give an incorrect reading this could result in car stalling and not starting until cool.
As suggested fix that problem first.

Hey again,

Ok don't know what happened with that coolant, but I filled it up again and it's hardly taken any, so I guess I must of forgotton to fill it in a while :S

So I just installed new iginition coils and spark plug leads, but according to my haynes manual it tells me it might be a good idea to replace my breather hose (which has a rip in it and is completely broken off where it goes into the tb i think)