General Brake squeal(HELP PLEASE ITS DRIVING ME MAD AT THIS STAGE)

Currently reading:
General Brake squeal(HELP PLEASE ITS DRIVING ME MAD AT THIS STAGE)

timogen

Hi lads and ladettes,i'm new to this so can you please bare with me.
The father-inlaw was on to me that his brakes were squealing on his fiat stillo,1.6 petrol so ive done the pads and disks, copper grease on the back of the pad and edges the lot but there is still a squeal in the front right wheel when the disk hots up.
What could be causing this is it possible for the squealer strip to be still hitting the disk or am i missing another reason for it?

Hi lads and ladettes,i'm new to this so can you please bare with me.
The father-inlaw was on to me that his brakes were squealing on his fiat stillo,1.6 petrol so ive done the pads and disks, copper grease on the back of the pad and edges the lot but there is still a squeal in the front right wheel when the disk hots up.
What could be causing this is it possible for the squealer strip to be still hitting the disk or am i missing another reason for it?
Hi, had the same problem a while ago but it was the pads that made me sound like a train when stopping. Since you've probably used the same kind on all wheels that wouldn't be it. It could be the metal protector behind the disks but that would either make a noise while turning or all the time.. you should better describe the sound is it like a train stopping? Or just something scratching the disk?

The brakes were starting to squeal,pads were 3-4mm left but disks have had it so replaced pads aswell as disks just for good measure.
Now it only squeals (high pitched) like when pads are worn and squealer strip is hitting the disk,also it only happens when the disk is hot it fine when cold.
Sorry forgot to say iv'e checked the guard at the back of the disk and it isn't that.

Last edited:
Hi.
I fitted Mintex pads to both my stilo’s and both cars squealed like the proverbial pig.