Technical AUX input on Connect Nav+

JohnsonChris

New member
Joined
Nov 20, 2003
Messages
62
Location
London
Abarth AUX-In

Hi all,

I'm waiting on my new Abarth, quick question though .. I'm tired of smashing CD's as I lug them back and forward between home and car, so I'm delighted to see that the Stilo has an MP3 player, but .... I also have a 20Gb MP3 player with RCA and standard 2.5mm jack connectors. Does anyone know of an AUX-In on the Stilo, can an external audio source be plugged in ... easily?

Cheers,
Chris
 
OP
OP
J

JohnsonChris

New member
Joined
Nov 20, 2003
Messages
62
Location
London
Hi all,

Just a quick update on my investigations ... ICELink from Dension are working on an iPod connector for the CD Changer interface to the Stilo, it's not ready yet but should be soon, I talked to a guy called Lee at www.ihavetohave.it. This should allow me to have the ipod externally as a usual player but then also hook it up to the car and have all my CD's ready to go, and it'll charge my iPod as well! No scratches and no hassle!

Chris
 

pc99

New member
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
79
Location
Milton Keynes
On the Connect Nav+ there is an AUX input option which is greyed out.
Is that because the firmware doesn't actually support it, or does it detect when something is connected.

In other words can I connect my hard drive MP3 somehow, to get around the reset on turning off the ignition?

If the connection is physically available, I could have a lead wired in that allows me to connect the MP3 player at will.

Any thoughts?
 

Mike1a1

New member
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
54
Location
High Wycombe
The aux will light up when you plug something into it but....
A while back my multi loader broke and I looked at replacing it with a DVD player. I decided against this in the end cos the screen only supports 256 colours. Anyway in order to do this a little box of tricks was needed to act as a decoder cos it would seem that fiat have managed to do a deal with blaupunkt who have encoaded some if their products only to work with connect. For example althought you can get a 1din blaupunkt 5 cd changer from say halfords that looks exactly the same in every respect to my old one it won't work. I douted this but the bloke showed me with a brand new one out of the box. beacause of this fiat charge nearly £100 more for essentially the same product as you can only get if from them or pay £100 for a decoder a bit of a catch 22. This may only be a problem with connecting a dvd but ask at a ICE specialist first, it could send up costing you more than you first thought
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
525
Aux In On Hu And Nav+ Found!!!!!

First of all i must say that this will work with any of the Stilo's head units as long as they have the CDC conection and providing they have got a CDC, if you havn't got it it won't work.

Ok, what i've done is tap into the CDC's audio cables and used them to take my aux cables sound to the HU. For the head unit to "accept" sound a CD must be playing so what i did was make a CD that had a silent song playing all the time (easily achieved with any recording program inc windows recorder and putting the microphone volume on min and the burning a CD with the track you've just recorded.

The wiring is very simple and can be done by anybody (just don't blame me if you break something):

The CDC connector looks like the one i have circled in red in the attatched diagram. You can access the connector either at the back of the headunit or behind the CDC itself as the cable that comes out of the CDC is connected to the cable that comes out of the HU just behind the CDC, and this is the easiest place to get to and work (don't try to do it inside the CDC 'cause the connector is pretty well hiddn and is welded to the main circuit so you'll just break it if you try it there).
The two pins that are circled in green are the two sound channels. If you are using regular sound cables, once you cut them you'll notice that each one is formed by a single cable in the middle (this one carries the sound) and a load of copper wiring surrounding this cable (earth cable witch is designed to prevent interfearances). The surrounding wire is needs to be connected to the pin circled in blue; this is very important because otherwise you'll get really big interfearance! You can connect the earth from both cables (left and right channel) to the same earth pin.

I think i've covered just about everything and i'll be pleased to answer any questions.
I will also post some photo's of the system i've installed (Harman-Kardon Drive+Play) later.
Hope this is heplful!(y)
 

Attachments

  • Dibujo.JPG
    Dibujo.JPG
    11.1 KB · Views: 5,158
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Messages
757
Location
Outtta Space
Re: aux on connect+nav

There never was an accessory that enabled AUX option unfortunately, from the various documents around it would seem that it is a video-input, maybe for a reversing camera or something

There are a couple of different solutions for MP3 on the CN+ though.

Dension Gateway + iPod (Through CD Changer Port)
Xcarlink/Loudlink (SD card/MP3 based CD changer emulation)

I cant comment on the xcarlink/loudlink and how good it is but I use the older Dension icelink with my old ipod and it works great, 90% of the time. Other times it just says No CD, or isnt detected by the CN+.
 

grundleweed

New member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
104
Re: aux on connect+nav

if i got a cd changer where does it plug into the back of? and is it easily accessable? i guess i will also need to glovebox trim that has a slot for a cd changer.

do you have a link for the dension ipod link?
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
588
Re: aux on connect+nav

Blue connector is the CD Changer plug

DSC020201.JPG
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
4
Location
Liberec
Re: Aux In On Hu And Nav+ Found!!!!!

Is this guide functional? I have connected CD-changer, but I have this problem:
I did this(decoding), but my cd changer still doesn't work! It work's on wisteon original stilo CD, but (after decoding) when i connect it with nav+, simply don't play. I push the button PLAY and it shows you that you are in the first cd and how many songs are on...but the timer is allways on 00:00 (after i pushed the button play, i hear the noise from cd changer, so i think that it plays)

I would like to use CD-changer input for my iPhone.

Thank you for help
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
953
Location
London
Re: Aux In On Hu And Nav+ Found!!!!!

good luck! Sfar as i know - you can't use CDC line without an actual CDC (as far as the head unit is concerned - no comms = no device = no line in) However, there are emulators that would pretend to be a CDC and provide you with aux, ipod, usb, etc. connection (cheeky :D)
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
4
Location
Liberec
Re: Aux In On Hu And Nav+ Found!!!!!

I know. I had old Visteon radio with XcarLink. I was not happy with this product, with lot of mistakes. I am searching other simple solution.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Messages
757
Location
Outtta Space
Re: Aux In On Hu And Nav+ Found!!!!!

There isnt a simple solution as far as I know, Ive looked, all over lol

The stilo HU's use a slightly modified version of the blaupunkt protocol. To get the CDC option to highlight you would need to program a microcontroller (PIC/Atmega etc) of some sort to send the correct init data to the headunit and pretend to play a CD.

There are some simple PICbased projects for using the Blaupunkt protocol, but as far as I know they require a clock signal as well as data, which the sStilo doesnt use.

Have a read of

http://www.k9spud.com/vwcdpic/devel.html

http://www.mictronics.de/?page=cdc_proto

the vwcdpic project doesnt work due to the clock pin being missing from the visteon radios, as well as the protocol being different.

You can log the data between the two, but you need something to handle it properly as the UART used in most PCs can only accept 7/8bit data, not 9bit as used by the CDC.


If you could crack the protocol properly, im sure a simple device could be knocked up using a cheap PIC, probably total cost a £3-5 max.

Best of luck

Dan
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
29
Fiat Stilo Blaupunkt 5CD changer with aux in

Dear All Hi I need your help.:bang::worship:

It has been bugging me for days I would be so great full if you great people on this forum could help to solve this if you can I want to put a guide on how to make this as you are all aware there is no aux in on the fiat stilo head unit and you need to by a loudlink CD changer emulator or the other brand to get it to play mp3 but the problem with this is that you then Disconnect the CD changer.

Na hear is the wicked & interesting thing I was surfing on eBay cause my changer is broken and came across a guy who was selling a changer but it had a aux in function on it na he wanted allot of money for it which I could not afford and would not tell me how he made the cable but I manage to get a description of the item and pictures of how he achieved it I have also put up the diagram and what the CDC port looks on the back of the head unit need your help to make this cable read below I no that C19, C20 are the speaker wires but what is he using to mute the signal from the changer if we could achieve this so many people would be happy.:slayer:(y)

Fiat Stilo Blaupunkt 5CD changer & cubby box c/w aux in - ready to connect and play!

Model Fiat FH IDC A09, with original Fiat Stilo cubby box and link lead to standard Stilo head unit

Removed from my 04 reg Stilo Multiwagon which I have just sold (first photos are in-situ before I removed it and replaced the original plain cubby box). The CDC unit and cubby box are in good condition, although the flocking in the cubby box where I have had my MP3 player has worn a bit (can be seen in the last photo), and the CDC is fully working.

Modified to accomodate standard aux in connection for any MP3 player or similar:

As the head unit is not aux-in compatible, the modification is simply that I have fitted a stereo make-or-break jack socket which interrupts the audio signal from the CDC to the head unit. Hence the audio is either from the CDC itself, with the aux jack plug removed, or from the MP3 player when one is plugged in to the socket. Furthermore the CDC needs to have CDs loaded and playing in it for the MP3 audio to work, as the head unit will not connect to the CDC if it sees no CDs loaded. A bit rough and ready I must admit, but it works well and avoids having to remove the original Fiat head unit and CDC which remain fully operational and controllable via the steering wheel controls.

.
 

Attachments

  • pic 1.jpg
    pic 1.jpg
    51.2 KB · Views: 942
  • pic 2.jpg
    pic 2.jpg
    58.8 KB · Views: 1,159
  • pic 3.jpg
    pic 3.jpg
    41.2 KB · Views: 991
  • 19092009018.jpg
    19092009018.jpg
    417.6 KB · Views: 2,251
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
29
Re: Fiat Stilo Blaupunkt 5CD changer with aux in

If any tech guys can help please do if i get this working i will donnate a £10 to the forum already donated some money.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
953
Location
London
Re: Fiat Stilo Blaupunkt 5CD changer with aux in

may i suggest to use the search feature? Instructions on how to do this (in terms of wiring) were posted on this forum about a month ago (all you have to do is use a cut off switch with the wiring)
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
29
Re: Fiat Stilo Blaupunkt 5CD changer with aux in

Hi guys many thanx for forwarding me to the post if you look at the wiring in the picture its like as if the guy has split it up in total he has 6 wires 3 wires for the C18,C19,C20 but he is also using 3 other wires which i dont no what parts they are connected to .... and what is a stereo make-or-break jack socket cant find one any where ?
 
Last edited:

Davren

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
14,175
Location
London, UK.
Re: Fiat Stilo Blaupunkt 5CD changer with aux in

and what is a stereo make-or-break jack socket cant find one any where ?

It's the same as the socket you plug stereo headphones into. It's wired so that when you plug the headphones in, it connects the output to the headphones and at the same time, disconnects the output to the speakers.

Dave.
 
Top