Technical Amp power lead fitting (Sei)

Currently reading:
Technical Amp power lead fitting (Sei)

Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
3,262
Location
West Yorkshire
Righto, stripped the car out so no carpet, centre console or side trim bits.

I have a little search on here and found that there's a grommet in the bulkhead by the pedals that can be used.

So there's 2 grommets available, one has some wire coming through it already, the other (which looked ideal) has metal behind it!

I need to run 0 guage (ie, massive) cable through the car so I don't think "grommit 1" will be big enough.

If someone could shed some light for numpty balls here :D
 
Joined
May 26, 2004
Messages
7,624
Location
where the bloody hell is
go down to a motor factors and pick up a suitable grommit and just drill a hole behind the battery.

or

run the cable under the heat insulating stuff and through the same hole the speedo cable goes through.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
5,151
Location
Towcester, Northants
Or if you want to do it more professionally use one of these http://www.tooled-up.com/Product.asp?PID=7664 the £6.17 one, very easy to use and leaves a better edge to the hole so if the grommit comes off it stands less chance of cutting into cable.

Or for a range of sizes http://www.lawson-his.co.uk/scripts/products.php?cat=Hole Cutters It was one of these that I used to cut a hole in my bulkhead when feading throw wires, bost gauge hose etc for the MF2 controller when fitting my turbo engine in Imola Cinq.

Aaron.
 
Last edited:

chaos

Ah. Not good...
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
10,602
Hmm..........looking at my cinq, there should be enough room for 0 gauge by the speedo cable - just don't make the slit too big! :p
 

seicentojay

New member
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
153
Location
rowley regis
hi mate im using 0 guage cable for my install which i done yesterday and i took out carpet and all trim panels and what i did was run it thourgh behind the pedals and went up along dash and down by drivers door and into the metal and ran it along the inside of the sill so that u could not see it at all and came out inside rear trim panel al i got to do now is drill hole in bot side and come through and grommet hope this helps (jay
 
OP
OP
paulbfd
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
3,262
Location
West Yorkshire
Cheers Jay

Not actually got the cable yet, was just having a poke about (fnarr) yesterday after I'd finished putting my RCA leads in.

I'm sure it'll all go in.
 
OP
OP
paulbfd
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
3,262
Location
West Yorkshire
The only reason I'm using 0 guage is that the combined rating of my two amps is 160 amps. The gauge of cable has no effect on the lights, that's down to your charging system.

There is a mod known as "The Big Three" (see ICE section) that can help reduce this.
 

GhostWKD

Winning
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
17,252
Location
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Paul, is this the grommit you mean? should be able to fit 0 gauge wiring through (i think :eek:) its the one behind the pedals, if thats the one you meant my bad :eek:
 

Attachments

  • Image(450).jpg
    Image(450).jpg
    270.2 KB · Views: 40
OP
OP
paulbfd
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
3,262
Location
West Yorkshire
What a legend :worship:

That's one of them, I can't tell in that pic but in mine there's already some wiring comes through that grommit. Is there on yours? If so then I'm sorted.

There's also another grommit a bit futher down to the left on mine, with no cable.
 

project-cinqy

New member
Joined
May 15, 2005
Messages
646
Location
Coningsby, Lincolnshire
On the cinq there's another grommet thats blank on the otherside of the car. It's just underneath and to the right of the heater, and feeds straight into the cabin. Should be big enough for 0 guage, don't know if it's there on the sei though. Our cable goes under the sound deading and comes out through a hole and slot in front of the battery.

Jon+Em
 

GhostWKD

Winning
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
17,252
Location
Banbury, Oxfordshire
paulbfd said:
What a legend :worship:

That's one of them, I can't tell in that pic but in mine there's already some wiring comes through that grommit. Is there on yours? If so then I'm sorted.

There's also another grommit a bit futher down to the left on mine, with no cable.

In my pic theres only the two wires i fed through there, wasnt any there previously :eek:
 

tango

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
77
Location
cork
project-cinqy said:
On the cinq there's another grommet thats blank on the otherside of the car. It's just underneath and to the right of the heater, and feeds straight into the cabin. Should be big enough for 0 guage, don't know if it's there on the sei though. Our cable goes under the sound deading and comes out through a hole and slot in front of the battery.

Jon+Em

went running my power cable last night, went looking for the grommet like my last car but its not there :eek: really annoying, mine is a 98 model, bulkhead seems quite different.
 
Top