General 500L Restoration

Currently reading:
General 500L Restoration

Shepster998

Hi all,
I'm restoring a 500L and I'm new to these cars in particular.
I've found some rot that needs cutting out behind the rear seat where the firewall, inner wheel arch and floor meets.

My main worry is that the mount, where the rear shock mounts to, also looks bad. I can't find reference for a replacement or repair panel for this. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Also as the firewall is double-skinned is it better to replace the whole thing or try and weld in a patch (as only the top layer is bad).

Right, took me a while but figured it out. Please bear with me, I've restored minis before, but never a 500.
So you can see the firewall is in bad shape, heavily pitted and if I try and grind it back to clean metal it's just too thin to weld to. So I think my only option there is to replace the firewall. But as you can see the rot extends to the inner wheel arch and the shock absorber mount and the floor that goes over the top of that mount. I need to get a good look from underneath, but wanted to find out what the mounts where called - I haven't seen one either. I may be able to fabricate something if it's not too bad, but the shock absorber nuts are seized, so I'll probably have to cut them off and buy new shocks.

Last edited:
Oh dear!
that's not nice

I haven't seen one that bad apart from the one I decided not to buy about 5 years ago.
Sadly none of those panels are available as far as I know.

I would suggest replace the fire wall. Although I don't know anyone who has completed that task yet.
You could ask Mark at Motobambino.
With the fire wall out you could have a new rear member made. it wont look original but at least you know its strong.
With the cross member and rear wall removed you should be able to repair the wheel house and those shock mounts are really thick so you could remove it and get it blasted or clean it up the best you can.