Technical 2012 Panda Pop 1.2 - Sticking clutch/stalling

Currently reading:
Technical 2012 Panda Pop 1.2 - Sticking clutch/stalling

kendallmint

Hi all,

I am a newbie to the site and owning and driving a Fiat Panda. Apologies if my post is too long or if it should be posted elsewhere. If so, please let me know.

I became the owner of a 2012 Fiat Panda Pop 2 months ago. It's my first car and until last week I had no issues and had started to enjoy driving.

By way of background, I passed my driving test 18 years ago mainly as I felt I would need to drive for work. However, subsequently moved to Birmingham and with excellent public transport links I was able to avoid driving and put it off ever since.

I am now coming up to my 40th Birthday and have small children and I decided that it was stupid to be limited by avoiding driving. I therefore took the plunge and purchased the Panda Pop after seeing it at a local dealer garage. It is small and sturdy and with an excellent service history it appeared reliable for doing the school run, shopping .etc.

After driving the car for 6 weeks with no issues, I went out in the car last Thursday to do the school run. It was freezing here in Birmingham, it took about 10 minutes to defrost the car before heading out. I did the school run without issue, which is about 5 minutes there, a stop of about 20 minutes and 5 minutes back.

After returning home and then heading out again, I stopped at a major traffic light junction at the top of my road. This has 4 sets of light changes and only allows 3-4 cars through at each change. When anticipating the lights in my favour, I prepared to pull away in 1st gear but was surprised that on lifting the clutch could not get a "bite point". I felt a slight blip where it would normally be and then nothing. This led to the car stalling. On re-starting the car, the clutch worked fine and I was able to move off.