Technical 2004 1.2 Dynamic losing charge on a new battery (No Parasyitic Drain?)

Currently reading:
Technical 2004 1.2 Dynamic losing charge on a new battery (No Parasyitic Drain?)

ScottEnock

Hi guys,

All through the winter my Panda has been losing its charge through the night and is unable to start in the mornings. The battery is a year old and has been checked by QuickFit which gave it an all clear.

When the engine is on the battery is recieving 14 volts and always starts up after a drive, so the alternator isn't the cause.

I checked the amp draw to check for any parasytic drains and get a reading of 0 when the car is off which really threw me.

I was told it could possibly be a bad earth, and cleaning them might solve the issue. In particular I was told to check the earth that leads from the gearbox to the engine. I'm relatively new to working on cars and was unable to find that particular earth.

If anyone has any advice I'd really appreciate it. Thanks.

where to start.

First. Its not an earth problem causing a leak over night.

second a good working car to have a small drain. Can't be 0. ECU memory. clock, remote receiver all have a draw. If you lock the car while measuring the drain you will see it drop after about 30 seconds as unnecessary circuits are put to sleep. (can't remember exactly. The active and were dynamic are slightly different. From memory after 30 sec it drop to 200mA

Third both my Pandas measure over 14V one is 14.1V and is marginal the other is 14.2V

I suggest you measure the parasitic drain again? There something wrong here.

Or disconnect the battery overnight and retest the following morning. At least you would know for sure if its really a drain.

Is it with the original radio. Some have been known to come on in the night and drain the battery. Mine has been known to have a wee disco in the garage on occasion.