Technical 2003 Ducato 2.0 JTD swb suddenly gone into limp mode.

Currently reading:
Technical 2003 Ducato 2.0 JTD swb suddenly gone into limp mode.

StHawk

Ok. I bought this van to move my wife and my self to Italy from the Netherlands. It has been great so far hauling a full trailer with my shop tools through the alps. Suddenly I took it out yesterday and it will not rev. I managed to get it home but it won’t do over 50km. Sitting still it won’t rev past 2k rpm. The check engine light is not on and nothing looks out of place on the dash.
It happened yesterday. And the sun has come out so I’m going to go poke around.
I’m a mechanic. But I work primarily on motorbikes. I worked on 5cyl turbo Audis, but diesels are foreign to me so I need some help.
I have an obd2 reader but I’m guessing from what I’ve read I’ll need something that speaks fiat.
I can’t afford to just throw parts at this. Any help would be awesome. Suggestions on where to look?
Recommend mechanics in the Rovigo -Ferrara area?

Thanks,
Jeremy

Last edited:
Hi Jeremy,

I am sorry to learn of your problem. For what its worth I am attaching a pdf copy of what I hope is the appropriate Fiat eLearn fault finding procedure. Please note that this procedure seems to be in two similar, but not identical sections.

The procedure mentions checking the brake pedal switch, which can stick in the operated position. On my 2006 2.8 JTD and on other similar vehicles, the dual contact brake pedal switch was not fitted. (The wiring was there, but only a single contact switch, which had to be changed when adding cruise control.) However what was fitted, and which does not seem to appear on any circuit diagram was the clutch pedal switch.