General 1997 Mk1 Punto 60 sx Misfiring???

Currently reading:
General 1997 Mk1 Punto 60 sx Misfiring???

mtleigh

Hello,
I bought my punto in January 2011 as my first car and i am no mechanic but am willing to give anything a try.
Recently my starter motor just completely failed so i went to the scrap yard and got another for £20 and fitted it myself.
When i tried to restart the car, at first it failed and i found that i had not connected a black wire. After connecting this back up, the car was running like a bag of s$$t.
I then found that there was a small air pipe disconnected which when i reconnected seemed to improve the problems a great deal (this was reconnected under the plastic covering that covers where the lamda sensor connects), however, the car before my starter motor failed was running just fine and now it seems to misfire constantly. The misfire is not as noticable in idle but as soon as you start moving it is more apparent. It does not seem to reduce at any particular speed but i am having trouble with it as it feels like the car keeps wanting to stall when i am slowing down and it takes forever to accelerate. Also my fuel acconomy is completely rubbish. Before finding the disconnected air pipe i got 7 miles off £10. now i am getting roughly 30 miles of a quarter of a tank.

I have changed a coil pack which i was told could be my problem, which made no difference. I have checked all the spark plugs which are black and sooty except for 1 which is a little wet (could be oil) but these are all within a couple of months old. At the same time these got replaced, i had an oil change, new oil filter, new air filter, new cambelt and new alternator and belt all doen by a respected mechanic.

I have checked all other connections and they all seem to be connected.