Technical 1.2 v 1.4 (petrol)

Currently reading:
Technical 1.2 v 1.4 (petrol)

Hi everyone,

Forum noob here so be gentle please. :)

I'm after a used Grande Punto and have done alot of research lately (recalls, common problems, no so common problems, engine size, price etc), but I can't seem to decide whether it's worth forking out more for .2 of engine size. I've heard that the 1.2 is a bit underpowered for the size of the car.

I'm not a weekend track thrasher or boy racer, but I'd like something to help me along with overtaking and going up big hills easily (hilly here).

I own a second generation Punto which is coming upto 10 years old now, and fancied a change so I'm choosing the Grande.

I would say go for 1.4 to be safe, but is there really that much difference? (yep I've looked at torque and power outputs). :chin:

If its going to be used mostly in town the 1.2 is fine, else get the 1.4.
Some people on here (MJet,TJet) crowd will say either are slow but from my point of view (and having owned both!) the 1.2 is fine for driving about town. The 1.4 is slightly better out of town - feels more refined and is defiantly better on hills. Neither is going to win awards for overtaking but again the 1.4 is slightly better.
The bonus of the 1.4 is although it might costs slightly more up front the on going costs (servicing, parts, fuel) is the exact same as the 1.2, in fact on fuel the 1.4 may be a little better.

My wife's 1.2 (S reg 1998 Punto) out-accelerates my new 1.4 Grande Punto.

Maybe the GP has still got some loosening-up to do (only done 2500 miles) but it does confirm that the 1.2 GP isa definately under-powered.

i have a 1.2 active, its my first car but im bored of the thrashing i have to give it just to get upto a decent pace. im currently looking to upgrade to a 1.4 16v as im coming just about to complete my first year of driving, so insurance would be a little cheaper.