Register Login
Save up to 15% with Adrian Flux insurance!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-09-2006   #1
Whaddya mean too old?
 
Deckchair5's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Roman city Bath
Posts: 5,589
Thanks: 718
Trader Rating: 0
Deckchair5 has donated!
United Kingdom 
Discussion Thread: Brake Light Switch Replacement

Yep, you read it right, not brake light problems but solutions to a problem you didn’t know you had. Many Stilo owners will have had to change their brake light switch through ASR warning lights and brake lights not working or staying on sort of problems but for those that haven’t then I feel you should be forewarned of something that may be coming your way if it hasn’t already.

Imagine the scene, I’m driving along a dual carriageway and a young lass draws up along side and is pointing and mouthing intelligibly something like “I thought my bum looked big until I saw the back end of your Stilo”. At least I think that’s what she says and so I smile sweetly, give her a thumbs up and say back something which probably looks like “Yes you can get a full wax, back and crack down the road for £45 don’t you know”

Anyway, I decide to check things at the rear when I get home and I’m lucky in being able to check my rear lights in a neighbours front window acting like a mirror -spoils his TV viewing but handy for me. So everything looks intact and I check my brake lights a few times in the window –
Fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, uh?
Did I imagine that? Did the high level brake light come on but not the low level ones? Is that possible?
Fine, fine, fine, fine, then same again!
Fine, fine, fine then NOTHING! What’s going on?

Looking at the circuit diagram the high level brake light is indeed on a different circuit to the low level ones, the high one being directly connected to the brake light switch and the low level ones only being turned on by the body computer so it’s easily possible for the high level to work with no low level ones

Now I hear that new brake light switches are better designed and more robust than the originals, the operating point isn’t right at the top and therefore over sensitive and the switch isn’t so affected if you happen to trip your foot underneath the brake pedal. (The original would often reset it’s brake light operating point just by a simple act of pulling up on the brake pedal or catching your foot underneath it. Not good).

So I’d advise everybody to check out the operation of their brake lights, not by asking someone to check as you won’t know what’s happening, but by reflections and watching what happens with your own foot operating the brake pedal. If you’re getting odd things happening too then it’s time to replace the brake light switch before someone reshapes your rear end

New switches are £5 from Fiat. Not too difficult to fit but I’d advise practising shuffling a deck of cards with one hand in the dark upside down first

HOW TO REPLACE
Remove the sound deadening over foot panel and throw it away if you haven’t already done so, more room for your feet and you can hear the indicators as well then.
Switch is a bayonet, light bulb type, half turn to remove. Connector to it is a pull up release catch which is where you’ll need the fingers of steel and origami in the dark skills

Refitting is absolutely nothing like removal (just like it should truthfully say in the Haynes manuals) as you will be all out of patience and fed up with being upside down by then

Don’t forget to test the operation afterwards
Thanks hjalte81 thanked for this post
__________________
02 Stilo 1.6 Dynamic 3 door
99 Bravo 1.2SX

Last edited by Deckchair5; 15-09-2006 at 19:10.
Deckchair5 is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 15-09-2006   #2
Veracocha
 
bozzy's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 26
Trader Rating: 3
bozzy has donated!
United Kingdom 
Re: Brake light solutions

Sticky perhaps?
__________________
FIAT Forum Useful Links:
Donate to FF | Buy FF Merchandise | Classifieds | FF Insurance | How-to Guides

bozzy is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 15-09-2006   #3
It's about GO! not SHOW!
 
Argonought's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: POOLE, Dorset
Posts: 7,335
Thanks: 340
Blog Entries: 1
Trader Rating: 0
Argonought has donated!
United Kingdom 
Re: Brake light solutions

So I presume this happened to you then Decks?

Are you saying that you need to keep pressing the brake peddle half-a-dozen times or so to be sure when testing rather than relying on a single press?
__________________
------------------------------------------------------
Stilo Dynamic 5 door JTD {150} 02 model in Metallic Grigio Steel with Skyroof & 16" Alloys Mods: New standard springs all round; Tyres: FALKEN ZIEX ZE912; Oil: Mobil 1 TD 0W-40 fully synthetic
Argonought is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 15-09-2006   #4
Whaddya mean too old?
 
Deckchair5's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Roman city Bath
Posts: 5,589
Thanks: 718
Trader Rating: 0
Deckchair5 has donated!
United Kingdom 
Re: Brake light solutions

Yes it's inconsistent due to poor contacts. 20 out of 20 tests should show things to be ok. Mine didn't make it that far
__________________
02 Stilo 1.6 Dynamic 3 door
99 Bravo 1.2SX
Deckchair5 is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 16-09-2006   #5
Former FIAT Obsessive
 
Rich's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Torquay
Posts: 3,176
Thanks: 53
Trader Rating: 1
Rich has donated!
United Kingdom 
Re: Brake light solutions

Both our Stilo's have had this replaced, Mum's due to brake lights sticking, mine causing repeated ESP errors. And this can also cause the Selespeed models to not start as the car won't know the brake pedal is depressed or throw a general error.

This is a sticky for now . . . until something is done about the "Stilo Common Fix" section.
__________________
Last FIAT: 08 Bravo TJet Sport, Maranello Red
Retrofitted: Blue & Me Nav, Chrome Handles
Sister's: 06 Grande Punto 1.4 Dynamic, Crossover Black, Red Badge Conversion
Sister-in-Law's 58 GP 1.4 Eleganza, Azure Blue, Cimate, Parking Sensors
Previously: Mk.1 Punto, 2x Brava, Barchetta FL, 5x Stilo, Nuova Bravo, and more . . .
Rich is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 23-11-2006   #6
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 166
Thanks: 0
Trader Rating: 0
United Kingdom 
Re: Brake Light Switch: ESP/Lights/Selespeed Problems?

Ok, I definately have this problem now, and the reflection of the brake light is either none present (which is dangerous) or its really weak. I paid a visit to Fiat Glyn Hopkin Loughton yesterday and went to the parts department to pick up a brake light switch. They sold me this.



Im ready to set to work to eradicate this problem once and for all.

Deckchair, how easy is this thing to fit once I take off the sound deadening thing. Do you have some good step by step directions on how to get rid of the old and fit the new.

This would be very much appreciated as usual

Thanks
__________________
FIAT Forum Useful Links:
Donate to FF | Buy FF Merchandise | Classifieds | FF Insurance | How-to Guides

badkilla is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 24-11-2006   #7
Whaddya mean too old?
 
Deckchair5's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Roman city Bath
Posts: 5,589
Thanks: 718
Trader Rating: 0
Deckchair5 has donated!
United Kingdom 
Re: Brake Light Switch: ESP/Lights/Selespeed Problems?

It's fiddly and requires some good control one handed under the dash. Get the driver's seat as far back as it will go. The switch is right above the brake pedal arm and, at first, looks like a right pig to do as you can only just get your fingers on it and have to go almost toally by feel but, like a light bulb, just a half twist of the switch and it's out, push it upwards to release it from it's securing bracket. i did it so many times i can do it in seconds now so it's not difficult but a bit of a strain to get to so get comfy

Once it's released you have a bit of slack in the wiring so you can move the switch over the top for a bit more slack so you can get to the electrical connector. This is just a raise release catch on the side of the connector and pull off, again tricky because yoi could only use one hand on it but, once the connector is off, the switch is out

You reminded me though that I had a problem fitting the new switch as it just would not rotate to lock into position no matter how hard i tried. I needed to file off a small amount of the plastic from here on the locating lugs of the switch to enable it to fit.

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02435.jpg
Views:	267
Size:	225.5 KB
ID:	21287

The plastic moulding lugs had some overhanging plastic preventing the switch rotating in to secure it. You might have this too. That was frustrating as it could have gone in first time and took a while to realise why the new one just wouldn't go in but the old one would go straight in

Once installed, remember to adjust the centre plunger as described above. You can check the operation either by reflections or by raising your tailgate as you can then see the high level light whilst you put your foot on the brake
__________________
02 Stilo 1.6 Dynamic 3 door
99 Bravo 1.2SX

Last edited by Deckchair5; 24-11-2006 at 00:30.
Deckchair5 is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 25-11-2006   #8
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 166
Thanks: 0
Trader Rating: 0
United Kingdom 
Re: Brake Light Switch: ESP/Lights/Selespeed Problems?

Just replaced it, the old brake switch was not connecting to it properly, took a few hours as I have little to none experience with these things, but cant fault deckchairs help, I will now probably be able to do this again without heading to the dealers. For anyone needing assistance for this problem, follow this guide and simple, you cant go wrong
__________________
FIAT Forum Useful Links:
Donate to FF | Buy FF Merchandise | Classifieds | FF Insurance | How-to Guides

badkilla is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 03-04-2007   #9
Forum Moderator
 
T14086's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Preston
Posts: 29,985
Thanks: 1064
Trader Rating: 0
T14086 has donated!
United Kingdom 
Re: Discussion Thread: Brake Light Switch Replacement

Use a 1mm (increase to 2mm if required) feeler guage between pedal stop & switch plunger when settiing up,this prevents having to reset under hard braking
__________________
FIAT Forum Useful Links:
Donate to FF | Buy FF Merchandise | Classifieds | FF Insurance | How-to Guides

T14086 is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 03-04-2007   #10
Whaddya mean too old?
 
Deckchair5's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Roman city Bath
Posts: 5,589
Thanks: 718
Trader Rating: 0
Deckchair5 has donated!
United Kingdom 
Re: Discussion Thread: Brake Light Switch Replacement

I don't understand what you mean T1
I would think you'd end up with your brake lights twitching on over bumps or even permanently on if you set the switch artifically high as its a hyper sensitive switch. How will harsh braking affect the switch trigger position?
__________________
02 Stilo 1.6 Dynamic 3 door
99 Bravo 1.2SX

Last edited by Deckchair5; 03-04-2007 at 23:40.
Deckchair5 is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 07-04-2007   #11
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, United Kingdom.
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Trader Rating: 0
Smile Re: Discussion Thread: Brake Light Switch Replacement

Thanks for the info,

Came back from holiday and had the same problem, had a rear stop lamp out.

Replaced it but then noticed that the brake lights were on all the time unless the brake pedal is 100% all the way to the top. Tried to reset the switch but think the switch is dead as did not work (Worked for one depression that was it).

Will buy and new one from Fiat and see if that does the trick....
__________________
Fiat Stilo 1.8 Dynamic 16v
hafs is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 07-04-2007   #12
Whaddya mean too old?
 
Deckchair5's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Roman city Bath
Posts: 5,589
Thanks: 718
Trader Rating: 0
Deckchair5 has donated!
United Kingdom 
Re: Discussion Thread: Brake Light Switch Replacement

I've made a guide on this with helpful piccies in the Stilo Guides section up above
__________________
02 Stilo 1.6 Dynamic 3 door
99 Bravo 1.2SX
Deckchair5 is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 02-05-2007   #13
Forum Moderator
 
T14086's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Preston
Posts: 29,985
Thanks: 1064
Trader Rating: 0
T14086 has donated!
United Kingdom 
Re: Discussion Thread: Brake Light Switch Replacement

Quote Originally Posted by Deckchair5 View Post
I don't understand what you mean T1
I would think you'd end up with your brake lights twitching on over bumps or even permanently on if you set the switch artifically high
Thats exactly what it stops.
__________________
FIAT Forum Useful Links:
Donate to FF | Buy FF Merchandise | Classifieds | FF Insurance | How-to Guides

T14086 is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 03-05-2007   #14
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Trader Rating: 0
Slovakia 
Re: Discussion Thread: Brake Light Switch Replacement

Could somebody tell me the ePer number of the brake light switch? I havent found it in ePer
__________________
Marian from Slovakia
2002 Stilo 1,6 16V Activa - Novitec alloys

Fehler In Alle Teilen
Fiat_Bohmer is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Old 03-05-2007   #15
Whaddya mean too old?
 
Deckchair5's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Roman city Bath
Posts: 5,589
Thanks: 718
Trader Rating: 0
Deckchair5 has donated!
United Kingdom 
Re: Discussion Thread: Brake Light Switch Replacement

Here you go, item 4
Click image for larger version

Name:	 <a href='http://www.fiatforum.com/autolink.php?id=4&script=showthread&forumid=33' target='_blank' title='ePER - Online parts guide to all FIAT models' class='gal'>eper</a>.JPG
Views:	2244
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	27610 (Click to enlarge)
__________________
02 Stilo 1.6 Dynamic 3 door
99 Bravo 1.2SX
Deckchair5 is offline Reply With Quote Quote 
Reply
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(T) warning light coming on when i brake superstylin69 Punto (Mk2/2b) 6 13-04-2006 23:48
(T) Brake Light Switch Rich Stilo 5 24-07-2004 20:31
(T) no brake lights - switch replacement stuartp Cinquecento / Seicento 10 16-04-2004 17:24
(T) Brake bulb warning light anthemmaster Bravo / Brava 10 24-03-2004 04:44