General Overheating Problem

Currently reading:
General Overheating Problem

MissKinky

Hey. I need somehelp with my Punto. A few days ago I got my warning light on my dash on my temperature. As I was driving on a motorway I had to pull over and put some more water in. After about 5 minutes of the engine being off and the water being put in the car was fine for the rest of the 30 minute journey. The next day picking my b/f's son up from school (around a 15 minute drive) I had the same problem. Just to be on the safe side I have contacted various garages in my area BUT whenever i mention that the engine keeps overheating they back off and tell me that the head gasket needs replacing and are not willing to do it.
Not one mechanic has looked under the bonnet and checked for the problem and I am now looking at a whopping £270 repair bill (for replacement of head gasket). Due to being a student I cannot afford this and as a result cannot get to work.
Can someone please give me some tips as to how I can check for the problem myself as no1 seems to want to know. And please remember I am a girl so please describe in detail what I am looking for as I'm not too good under the bonnet of a car Haha.
Any help would be greatly appreciated

Problem is with Puntos, from what I can tell, is that if the head gasket goes they're likely to need the head skimming, this means your car hanging around and garages don't want this :(.

What to look for... Well first off open the bonnet, the big black thing staring at you is the air filter, directly under that is the cylinder head & under that is the engine block, between them there's a black 'seal', if there seems to be oil leaking out of that you've generally got head gasket problems.