General Exhaust Manifold Studs and Nuts

Currently reading:
General Exhaust Manifold Studs and Nuts

Jambo1981

Afternoon all,

Firstly, will introduce myself. I'm new to Fiat and have recently Acquired a Fiat Grande Punto, 2007, 1.2 as a fixer upper as it has a fair few issues and it's MOT was due in a few weeks.

I have browsed the forum for some useful info but thought I would join and hopefully contribute back where possible and I have one last job to complete and am looking for recommednations or advice.

The exhaust system had 2 blows, 1 at the join for manifold to centre pipe and also the manifold gasket. Sorted the the join and moved on to the manifold gasket. After removing the heat shield, O2 sensor etc, noticed that 1 nut and stud was missing and 2 had been replaced with bolts that required an E10 to undo. I installed a stud into these 3 holes just to make sure there were no issues, all holes recieved studs appropriately.

Most of the nuts had to be removed with an extractor socket and all the studs came with them. I thought as I am doing the gasket I will replace all the studs and nuts so the future owner shouldn't have to worry about any issues with these should the manifold need removed for whatever reason.

So, I want to get the job done as quickly as possible and in for MOT so I phone the local Fiat dealer as I though these little items would be carried in stock. Anyway, nope, they have to order them in. OK, whats the price? I almost fell off my chair when the young chap came back with "for 8 studs and nuts, that will be £58,95 including the VAT".

So, my question is, has anyone used the cheaper studs off of Ebay? The studs I have measured out and they are M8, 40mm long. I have measured the ones from the car and they come in at 13mm for the first threaded part that screws in to the head, 14mm for the unthreaded part and 13mm for the last threaded part for the nut to sit.