500 Taken to Halfords had 3 new starter motors and still not working

Currently reading:
500 Taken to Halfords had 3 new starter motors and still not working

Chelsealauren

Hello, just joined the page as I'm in desperate need of advice. I'm a student who's got a 2008 fiat 500 sport, currently got the car up at uni with me. I took the car yesterday to garage as it was making a strange noise whenever I started it up for first time (I assumed fan belt was on its way out) however they told me it was starter motor. Had that replaces picked it up and drove off fine. Went back to it in uni car park 5 hrs later and it wouldnt start. Not even ticking over. Have had it taken back to garage, they say they have put two new starter motors in and neither is working. They're at a loss and so am i, I really needed the car fixed by tomorrow afternoon so that I can go home :( they're next option is to get a specific fiat branded one to put in but they don't know when they'll get that by. Has anyone got any other ideas of what I could suggest to them? Just feeling a bit lost and unknowledgeable due to not having my parents around to help out.

Last edited:
Hi Charlie,
Only brought the car in August and so this is the first issue I've had with it. I'm based in Lincoln at the minute. When they first said starter to me I was unconvinced as after googling signs of a starter failing I didn't pick up on any that I had experienced. I struggled to start it once at night after it had been frosty and the car hadn't been driven for a while. (It only gets used to go food shopping as being a uni student I don't need it much).