General 500X - engine oil

Currently reading:
General 500X - engine oil

Hello folks, newbie here. I have a 68 reg 500X with 1.4 multi jet engine. I think the handbook says 0W/30 grade engine oil. Is that correct? Many thanks for your help!

Do you mean the 1.4 Multiair petrol engine? If so, it does indeed use 0W 30 oil. More importantly, it must comply with Fiat spec. 9.55535-GS1 or you will void the warranty. Selenia Digitek P.E. is compliant. Since Selenia is part of the Petronas company, there is probably a Petronas badged oil that also complies, but I haven't found one. Perhaps someone on here knows.

The Selenia oil can be hard to find, but it's available from Shop4Parts.

Finally, check your manual to confirm what I quoted above, which came from page 206 of the manual on my 2015 UK car.

Do you mean the 1.4 Multiair petrol engine? If so, it does indeed use 0W 30 oil. More importantly, it must comply with Fiat spec. 9.55535-GS1 or you will void the warranty. Selenia Digitek P.E. is compliant. Since Selenia is part of the Petronas company, there is probably a Petronas badged oil that also complies, but I haven't found one. Perhaps someone on here knows.

The Selenia oil can be hard to find, but it's available from Shop4Parts.

Finally, check your manual to confirm what I quoted above, which came from page 206 of the manual on my 2015 UK car.

Hi Trev - many thanks for this. Yes, it’s petrol. So I ought to pursue the Selenia product rather than just get a Castro’s 0W/30? Grateful for your further advice on this!

Easily done! Because of the way the valves are actuated in the Multiair engine, it's very important to use an oil that meets the Fiat specification given in your handbook. It's also important to have it changed frequently, every 9000 miles or annually, along with the filter.