Technical Generator light on but battery charging.

Currently reading:
Technical Generator light on but battery charging.

IanEmery

Established member
So, fancying a drive in the 500 today I go out to my garage and start the car but when reversing out I notice that the generator light is staying on. At this stage I'll admit that I'm no auto electrician, however, I've poked about a bit checking everything looks to be in place, all looks OK, then I connected my multi meter across the battery; engine off 12.54v, engine running at fast idle 13.6v so the dynamo is charging but why is the light staying on? :confused:

So, fancying a drive in the 500 today I go out to my garage and start the car but when reversing out I notice that the generator light is staying on. At this stage I'll admit that I'm no auto electrician, however, I've poked about a bit checking everything looks to be in place, all looks OK, then I connected my multi meter across the battery; engine off 12.54v, engine running at fast idle 13.6v so the dynamo is charging but why is the light staying on? :confused:

Hi Ian you need to check the voltage at the generator indicator light. It should be roughly the same on both terminals on the bulb. One side comes from, the green wire, from the voltage regulator, it's on the same terminal on the VR as the dynamo output, the other wire comes from a constant 12v+, ultimately from the fusebox. Both terminals the same you get no potential difference, so the bulb stays off. If the output from the dynamo drops a bit, like at tickover, you get a slight potential difference hence the generator light glows weakly.

Tony

Last edited: