Technical Damper rubber worn? Pictures*

Currently reading:
Technical Damper rubber worn? Pictures*

SR71BB

I know the punto handles quite badly at speeds above 60mph. It rolls moves a lot on it own and when trucks pass it rolls even more. Cross winds are the worst.

I bought cheap fiat alloys of ebay so I could put a brand new set of 185 wide tyre on it and it handles much better now than on the 165's. But it still have a tendency to roll but not as badly.

When I replaced the wheels I took some pictures of the rear dampers. Do the rubbers look worn to you and if so how bad would you say they are?

They look pretty horrendous to me but I am no expert. Thanks.

Attachments

• 1.jpeg
    1.jpeg
    133.1 KB · Views: 42
  • 2.jpeg
    2.jpeg
    161.8 KB · Views: 28
  • 3.jpeg
    3.jpeg
    159.6 KB · Views: 64
  • 4.jpeg
    4.jpeg
    142.1 KB · Views: 22
  • 5.jpeg
    5.jpeg
    135.4 KB · Views: 24
  • 10.jpeg
    10.jpeg
    174.1 KB · Views: 27
  • 8.jpeg
    8.jpeg
    152.8 KB · Views: 29
  • 9.jpeg
    9.jpeg
    148.7 KB · Views: 27
  • 7.jpeg
    7.jpeg
    173 KB · Views: 24
  • 6.jpeg
    6.jpeg
    112.3 KB · Views: 47
  • 11.jpeg
    11.jpeg
    149.2 KB · Views: 25
  • 12.jpeg
    12.jpeg
    132.8 KB · Views: 25
Yup there worn mate
You cannsee the.metal bushing in middle support by the runner has ripped well and truly

So this will moving and not dampening till rubbers finished moving

It wont hurt to replace the shocks
Just start pretreating the bottom bolt as they do like to seize into place
Lots of spray - easy access via rear axle ends

If the car is handling terribly - look for broken springs
Tyre condition and pressures
And it never hurts to have tracking done if ball joints are in good condition

Puntos can handle some speedy turns - but only if everything is in shape

My arse on mine is sagging and ive got a gap on my shock rubbers too
Ziggy

Thanks.