Punto (Mk2/2b) power steering motor

Currently reading:
Punto (Mk2/2b) power steering motor

gmoore1960

Hi All
Im a newbie here just got a punto having problems with power steering motor hope you can help:)
I have taken the power steering motor of the steering column leaving it plugged into electrics,when i start the car and turn the wheel it spins for about 2mins then stops (This is not right surely)shouldn't it keep spinning everytime you turn the wheel

Hi gmoore and welcome to Fiatlan:wave:
Mine does the same although I didn't wait two minutes. Just put it back and the steering worked again for a few months. Eventually I had to replace the relays in the motor.
What symptoms have you got ?

Hi gmoore and welcome to Fiatlan:wave:
Mine does the same although I didn't wait two minutes. Just put it back and the steering worked again for a few months. Eventually I had to replace the relays in the motor.
What symptoms have you got ?
Hi and thanks Brendan
When I start the car the steering is fine for amoment then goes stiff as I said I have taken the motor off and left it plugged in you can see the spline spin when you turn the wheel but then stops and will not go until you restart the car

Simples first. Get the battery and charging checked out. The steering draws a lot of current and if the battery is weak, cold, with lots of other demands like lights especially after starting, the steering will trip out on low voltage.

In my case the problem seem to be related to the motor wiring harness connectors. As the motor draws quite a bit of current especially in city mode the connectors with age weaken and start failing causing voltage fluctuation which the power steering ECU detects and then powersteering is disabled with warning light indicating. After applying some contact cleaner to the contacts the power steering started to work reliable.

I am interrested to know if the steering is lighter when the power steering motor is removed from the column.