Panda 2012+ 2013 Panda iPhone and AUX input

Currently reading:
Panda 2012+ 2013 Panda iPhone and AUX input

SimonWH

Hi all, Newbie here. I've only had this Panda for two weeks but the main issue I had was not being able to plug my iPhone into the radio (standard CD player).

So I bought this:

attachment.php

And can now plug my iPhone in and it'll be recharged at the same time via the USB port

attachment.php

Just press the 'MEDIA' button to sellect 'External Source' You can skip and select tracks via the radio buttons but it does not display the detail on the radio screen. There is an additional phono socket for basic 'audio in'.

It is a genuine FIAT accessory:
Multimedia Adapter part number 50926305.
I bought it from PERTHPARTS on eBay for £85. (Other retailers list it for £110)

I'll post the step-by-step photos too but it's really very easy to fit, can be done in 10 minutes.

Attachments

• adapter.JPG
    adapter.JPG
    19.3 KB · Views: 20,109
  • IMG_0198.JPG
    IMG_0198.JPG
    105.6 KB · Views: 21,528
Fitting the Media Adapter is very straight forward, getting the radio out is the hardest part, but you also need to swap over a couple of leads in one of the connectors to make it compatible with the 2012 model Panda.

As the new Panda Radio only has two holes for the release keys (instead of the usual 4) you'll need to bend the keys straight-ish.

attachment.php

The keys only need to be inserted about an inch to release the lugs but you don't have much purchase on anything to pull the radio out so it is a bit fiddly

attachment.php

After a bit of wiggling and no small amount of cursing the radio comes out of the slot

attachment.php

It will come out just far enough to rest on the gear stick

attachment.php

For those that are interested in these things, this is the label on the 2013 model Panda CD player

attachment.php

The adapter connector fits in the top right slot of this socket on the back of the radio

attachment.php