Technical Broken timing belt Uno 1400 1994

Currently reading:
Technical Broken timing belt Uno 1400 1994

uno

Dear All,

This is my first time here. Reading around the postings gives me much pleasure and would like to thank all those helping us continue to love these beautiful little cars. This forum is a great place to be, keep it up

I have several problems most of which have been addressed in previous discussions and I will use the advise there.

I have been trying to download the unomanual.pdf file without success. Can some one kindly email it to me?

Most importantly is that last week my uno stopped while i was driving! Firts thought it was fuel as i had been driving to the petrol station. Rolled to the side of the road and walked to the station, filled up some 10 litres, but alas the uno could not start. I noticed it was not pumping fuel so i though it was the fuel pump! I was towed home and later found the timing belt was broken.

1. I will call in a friend who is a mechanic to help with fixing this problem at home. What do we need to bye besides the timing belt?

2. What other damage may have been caused, that we need to deal with, valves, pistons ? The car is a carburetor type.

3. Otherwise it has been running fine. Will do a few tuning things as you guys have been discussing here

Help is greatly appreciated.

Uno

1.4, thats a NON fire engine i think :confused: Am i right in saying its a 70SX (5door) unless you have a turbo.

You should just need to buy a new timing belt. I know on the FIRE engines, they are non contact so the valves and pistons never make contact in the event of a broken timing belt, so you can just put a new one on and be away :)

Hello Uno (what a cool name, wonder why no-one had it before!)