General after market 15" alloys for a 1.2 Pop recommendations sought!

Currently reading:
General after market 15" alloys for a 1.2 Pop recommendations sought!

(Hi all!

I took a test drive today in a 1.2 sport on standard fiat alloys and found the handling, ride and road noise generated by the tires to be much improved over my 1.2 pop on steelies.

I can't afford to change the car yet (I did ask £1500 on the same sticker price as my car a month ago!) so I'm looking at putting some alloys on the pop to get the benefits without the expense of changing.

The dealer priced up genuine fiat ones - the 15" range all comes out at £505.44 plus tires Conti's £322.90, Dunlops £232.46. This seems a bit expensive compared to wheels and tires sourced on the internet. Halfords for example do a set with tires for £330.00 and other sites will supply wheels and tires for around £500!

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to alloys (for tires I usually go for a mid-range price) so I would like to benefit from your years of collective wisdom!

Questions on my mind are;

Will aftermarket non-fiat alloys be as well suited to the car and give the ride and handling improvements I'm looking for?

Can anyone recommend any?

How about used fiat ones as a cheaper option, anyone know of a reputable firm to buy from?

Saw a couple of salvaged "lounge" alloys on the bay for £75.00 is that a good price/worth the risk?

Anyways, enough of my waffle, hope you can help! :)

I think you may be making a couple of false assumptions in your post but as I am non-technical largely, I am not going to pass comment as there are others on here who (i) will know for sure and (ii) are very helpful, so I will wait for them to come along.

All I will say is that eBay and patience is what you need. Personally I would also stick to an official 500 style alloy too, but that is really just my individual preference (although when it comes to selling the car on you will reap the rewards).

Good luck.