Technical car security failure

Currently reading:
Technical car security failure

somebeans

i'm new to stilo's and i get the car security failure warning pretty much every time i get in the car. the car then doesn't turn off the immobiliser, so it won't go anywhere! if i turn the ignition off and back on again it usually clears it.
i have done a search through the forums and this seems to be a common-ish fault, just wondered if i am going along the right tracks with the thoughts i've got:

• check out the d4 connector
  • check battery
my key looks ok, but has recently had a new remote battery and the car battery was also checked recently and had a couple of cells topped up.

the other problem i've had is when i unlock the car sometimes the driver's door led carries on flashing until i press the unlock button again!

any thoughts?
cheers

I may not be the best person to advise on this – but a few things come to mind:

1) Re-register your keys
a) Take second key, put into ignition and turn to on position (don’t start the car)
b) Click open button on the other key to re-register
c) Swap keys and repeat
Note: while in on position it is theoretically possible for some one else to register their key (if it is compatible) if the other signal is not compatible you will receive a security error.

2) Immobilizer chip in key failing (get a new key – I do believe this can be tested as well)

3) Immobilizer antenna in ignition barrel is failing (think this is quite common on a stilo – but I’ve never had to fix it me self – hopefully some one else can advise on how to take it apart).

3) As anyone here will tell you – could be your battery (if there isn’t enough power on boot up stilo electronics behave in mysterious ways – if yours is 2 years or older and you can not test it – replace + go for the jtd updated battery if you can)

4) use search feature – this is a common enough fault

PS: stilo keys appear to have a limited life time (in my experience about 4-5 years)