General Anti roll bar bush???

Currently reading:
General Anti roll bar bush???

murkeywaters

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to this forum and what a great forum it is,

Lots of you guys seem really well informed and that is just what i'm looking for at the moment so i hope one of you can help...

Basically i have a Marea 2001 JTD 110 weekend and i have the usual knocking on the front end, i have had a good ol digg around the front susp and found that the culprit is the anti roll bar bushes (mounting bush) on the drivers side (not the drop links)

What i want to know is can i buy this part as i have heard they are hard to come by, or will any other bush from another car fit (bravo , brava etc etc) just the rubber would do as i have already had the bush mount off and separated.

I really dont want to change the whole anti roll bar just cause one bush is worn + its pricey and a bit of a pig to fit.

I'm hoping one of you guys have already done this job and sussed out a alternative part!!

Thanks in advance for any help

Cheers Murky ;)

the rubber wears over time, allowing play. once the mount is seperated you can use something to take up the slack before putting it back together, for example a pice of rubber mat under the original bush (technically its a buffer not a bush). some people take the easy option and push a wedge (wood/plastic/whatever) into the mount between the bush and the subframe. that works too. once i even used a bit of hosepipe to take up the slack, and that worked fine. alternatively you can go to a scrapyard and try to find a good condition rubber buffer to use (should cost a couple of quid if you remove it yourself).

Last edited:
The Marea ARB mounts are tacked onto the subframe if I remember correctly?
yeah tiny spot welds i think, but once the bolts are off those welds are easily snapped by levering a large flat blade driver between the subframe and bracket. this would also be easier with the subframe dropped rather than fitted.

Thanks Lads,