General Internittent electrical fault on 04 scudo.

Currently reading:
General Internittent electrical fault on 04 scudo.

welshspark

Hi everyone Welshspark here and Im a newbie on fiatforum.

Apart from my 04 1.9d (non turbo) scudo I have also owned a 99 1.9d (non turbo) peugeot expert which I believe is Identical, as citroen/peugeot were the original manufacturers of these vans and have given fiat a deal to stick their badges on them. Somebody wrote that off my expert :cry:so I now own a scudo.:D

If anyone can give me help with this glitch Id be very gratefull.

Got a problem with my van its an 04 Fiat Scudo 37000 miles on the clock, My van has the 1.9 Diesel (non turbo) standard engine that theyve been using in these for years.

Here goes.
It happened on some damp misty mornings back in January, but hasnt happened at all since then, but I would like to know the cause anyway just in case.

When I start the engine I can here a quick tick,tick,tick,tick sound and the digital display on my dash which is permanantly lit flickers in time with the tick,tick,tick sound. (Now my old peugeot expert also did this but I never experienced any engine performance problems to go with it) My Scudos courtesy light, headlamps, pretty much everything electrical pulses in time with the sound. Even the start relay for the glow plugs on the left hand side of the engine bay had a tick,tick,tick sound coming from it, if you put your finger on the relay case you could feel it too. :confused: