Technical Suspect Fuel pump failure on this 1999 S 60

Currently reading:
Technical Suspect Fuel pump failure on this 1999 S 60

davet30

This car belongs to the wife and my son also drives it - I do the hard bit and maintain it best I can. Just to let you know I've changed the head gasket, heater matrix, rear suspension dampers, track rod ends and break pads/shoes so I'm not really a novice.

OK. Got a call from my son late at night saying it wouldn't start. I checked it and suspected there was no fuel getting to the engine so I called the lads from the RAC out. I must say I was quite impressed by his determination. He suspected a duff fuel pump and towed it home for us [at 3.00am in the morning].

The local Fiat dealership said 160GBP for a replacement (not fitted). A local diy motoring shop said 136GBP and the local scrap yard wouldn't give a quote without a part number (which I don't have at the moment and the dealers won't tell :)).

Before I go to the expense of buying a pump and finding this not to be the fault (which someone else did on this forum). I'd like to be absolutly sure first.

According to the RAC guy he said we had 'power' to the pump plug but my confidence was lacking in this since he started checking fuses after this statement :confused:. I've since checked the wiring diagram in the Haynes manual and the colour codes I'd be interested in checking is the +ve line to the pump (brown and white) and the black -ive line. According to the manual this latter line goes to the inertia switch before going to ground via a black and violet wire.

When I get the car off the road and onto my drive [don't ask :)] I will be checking with my mutlimeter for the obvious etc. What I'd really like to know is, is the inertia switch the same thing as the fuel cut off switch I've read about on here and if it is, is it under that black rubber button to the left of the passenger seat?