Technical A question of Service

Currently reading:
Technical A question of Service

BobbyDarko

So my new car has been serviced and the interval says 18000 miles !!! is this right ? it seems alot of miles between services for such a little car?

What are you thoughts

Thank you

Bobby

My old 500 TA was 18,000 miles. I guess it all depends what you use your car for. If it's short runs and a lot of town city stop start driving then they advise you to have it serviced more regularly than, say if you did a lot of motorway driving.

I've just bought a new Twin Air Lounge and I was chatting to one of the technitions when I took delivery and he told me that the fully synthetic oil used in fiats twin air can 'regenerate' itself. How true that is I'm not sure, I'm a trained marine engineer and Synthetic oils do outperform mineral oil in both cleaning, cooling and lubricating. As for air filters and oil filters etc., again it would really depend on driving circumstances.
I'm getting mine serviced every 9,000 miles or every year. I'd rather pay the extra odd £100 to help protect my 'investment'.

So my new car has been serviced and the interval says 18000 miles !!! is this right ? it seems alot of miles between services for such a little car?

What are you thoughts

Thank you

Bobby

That's because it is. IIRC the service interval was reduced to 9000 miles on the later cars.

Whatever, changing the oil & filter every 9k won't cost a lot and would be excellent insurance against the possibility of an expensive repair, particularly one that's going to be coming out of your own pocket.

...and he told me that the fully synthetic oil used in fiats twin air can 'regenerate' itself. How true that is I'm not sure...

Sounds to me like total bo*****s. If you change the oil at 18k instead of at 9k, you will, on average, be running on oil that is four times as contaminated and degraded. On a turbocharged car, this seems like a risk well not worth taking.