Technical Parasitic drain

Currently reading:
Technical Parasitic drain

EppieCalvin

I am an X1/9 newbie and trying to get a 1985 restored. this is my first project car since highschool MANY years ago. I am having an issue with a parasitic drain. I was able to identify that my alternator is bad and isn't recharging the battery but I also have a drain that is killing the battery overnight.

I have checked the fuse panel that is on under the dash on the passenger side and could not the culprit. Is there another fuse panel somewhere within the car that I am not aware of or any suggestions on where to start? Could a bad starter cause this drain as well?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Have you checked the radio fitted has no l.e.ds or anything if it's a modern one. Fiats have the radio supply constant and it catches a lot of people out. I bought a seicento with a cd player which used power even when the fascia was removed! There are no other fuses unless your usa spec fuel injection/ecu has any.

Unfortunately, it is the original 1985 radio/cassette player. one of the big reasons that I bought this one was that it was still all original and VERY low miles, 46k. no aftermarket parts. I will try to check the starter again to see if that is my hold up...

Unfortunately, it is the original 1985 radio/cassette player. one of the big reasons that I bought this one was that it was still all original and VERY low miles, 46k. no aftermarket parts. I will try to check the starter again to see if that is my hold up...

Hi, :)
frustrating..:bang:
use this guide..,
https://www.fiatforum.com/punto-mk2...alternator-parasitic-drain-testing-guide.html
it may be a bad connection to the starter.. but more likely from a lighting ciricuit.,
charlie