Technical X1/9 engine swap questions

Currently reading:
Technical X1/9 engine swap questions

JakeMonkey

Hey all, some friends and I were looking at buying an X1/9 for a race called the 24 Hours of Lemons and I had some questions. I've seen some forums where people talk about engine swaps, and it appears that Honda engines are a very common swap. My main concern with this swap is mating the Honda engine to the Fiat wheel hubs. How is this typically done? I've seen some kits for thousands of dollars that have custom shafts, but this is a non-option for us. Has anyone dealt with a swap like this on an extreme budget, and do you have any advice on this subject? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I have no experience of this myself but I think the drive shafts is one of the most difficult parts of a conversion like the K20 Honda swap. Its unusual in the UK as we still have a few Fiat Uno Turbo/Punto GT engines about. This mates to the existing gearbox so avoids the need to fabricate a solution for the drive shafts.

I have been thinking about installing the Fiat 500 Abarth engine and gearbox into the fiat x1/9 but with regards to drive shafts - I'm not sure if the 'spider bearing' end of the early X1/9 1300 drive shafts is the same size as the 500 Abarth??? I would like to know. This might make an easier swap using the original X1/9 shafts, but the engine would be more expensive.

Would need to get your hands on the various bits and see if a hybrid drive shaft could be made up.

This would need a 4 speed 1300 gearbox unless the drive shaft sockets can be swapped onto a 5 speed box...

I would personally enter a non turbo well sorted X1/9 that is reliable and doesn't brake down, like all the other lemons cars :)

some research...
http://www.ricambio.co.uk/69-fiat/7...--fiat-doblo-idea-punto-stilo-alfa-romeo-mito