Styling Fiat X1/10 (X1/9 redesign) project

Currently reading:
Styling Fiat X1/10 (X1/9 redesign) project

Lukas D

Hi,

I'm an automotive design student from Coventry University. I joined this forum with the hope to get some information from the Fiat X1/9 enthusiasts.

Recently I was given a design project at the university which requires me to design a Fiat X1/10 (a new X1/9). The problem is I know close to nothing about this car and therefore set-out to do some serious research. This is how I got here.

I would be very glad if you could help me understand the essence of this car. You could do that by spending some of your time by answering the following questions:

What exactly makes it special for You?
What do You use it for?

Thank You for Your attention!

Well, it's italian, it's a Bertone and it fits perfectly in the 70s.
Everybody wishes they could have a Stratos or a Countach, but they are expensive and not practical. The X1/9 is cheap and not practical, plus you get the engine lid latch of the Countach and the pop-up headlights of the Stratos.
The scale is important: the X1/9 is tiny. When you drive past a truck, you can see up the exhaust pipe. If you stretch your arm, you touch the passenger's window.
And the way it drives can only be described as different. Old cars handle terribly. The X1/9 handles beautifully, but not like a modern car. You feel the steering wheel, the suspension working, the engine pulling. It's just beautiful to drive. And completely useless. I usually use mine to take the kid to school when the weather is good and on weekends.