Technical Starter fails to crank after car has been driven.

Currently reading:
Technical Starter fails to crank after car has been driven.

RS1986

I have recently come into possession of a long time good friends 1986 X 1/9 (Bertone). Sadly he was in poor health at the time and has since passed away and his knowledge went with him about the car. The current issue preventing me from making this car road legal: After the car has been driven at least 6 miles, if the car is turned off it will not restart for 30 - 40 minutes (or longer depending on outside temperatures). At cold the car starts with out fail. The battery is brand new. I am not very good with cars and any help would be very much appreciated, please dumb it down due to my lack of car knowledge. I have as of this weekend removed the starter and plan to have it "bench" tested. I fear they will find nothing wrong unless they have a way to get the starter up to the temperatures seen when this failure occurs.

Note: The failure is the starter does not operate after car has been driven, no "click" no nothing, panel lights on dash are present. Car can be roll started under these conditions....

Last edited:
Step 1 in every X1/9: Check for grounding.

In other words - There is a cable from the negative terminal on the battery to the car chassis. This is in the front trunk. Where the cable connects to the chassis, remove the bolt, using sandpaper, clean both the end of the cable, AND the mounting pad where it bolts to the chassis. Wire brush or clean the bolt as well. Then reassemble.

In the back of the car, you should find a braided cable that connects from the transmission to the car chassis. Just like in the front of the car, remove the bolt holding the braided cable to the chassis, clean the mounting pad with sandpaper, clean the end of the cable, and clean the bolt. Then reassemble the cable back onto the chassis.