Technical Location of coolant temperature sensor

Currently reading:
Technical Location of coolant temperature sensor

Orkney Laika

Hello

Newbie here. I have a 2001 camper based on a Ducato Maxi chassis with a 2.8JTD engine. I cant find the OBD port anywhere but am more interested in the location of the coolant temp sensor. When googling, it says it can be on the front or the side. A new one is blue and if I have correctly identified it the original is not.

I have attached a phot if I have got it right. Right hand side as you look in the bonnet just under the air pipes. Connection facing the radiator. Can you please confirm if I have got it right as all my previous campers have had spade connectors.

Thanks in advance

Neil

Attachments

• sensor.jpg
    sensor.jpg
    134.4 KB · Views: 585
Hello

Newbie here. I have a 2001 camper based on a Ducato Maxi chassis with a 2.8JTD engine. I cant find the OBD port anywhere but am more interested in the location of the coolant temp sensor. When googling, it says it can be on the front or the side. A new one is blue and if I have correctly identified it the original is not.

I have attached a phot if I have got it right. Right hand side as you look in the bonnet just under the air pipes. Connection facing the radiator. Can you please confirm if I have got it right as all my previous campers have had spade connectors.

Thanks in advance

Neil
Hi Neil,

Welcome to the forum.

Your vehicle will be based on an x230 Ducato, and I di not have precise details for that model. However my x244 2.8jtd, and has two coolant temoerature sensors. I suspect that yours is the same, as it is still a Sofim 8140.43s engine. One sensor is used by the ECU, which controls the cooling fans. The second sensor is used for the temperature gauge. This sensor also contains a thermostatic switch for a high temperature warning light.