General Damaged Barchetta - Can it be fixed without replacement parts?

Currently reading:
General Damaged Barchetta - Can it be fixed without replacement parts?

philipbloom

Hi,

My beloved 96 Barchetta which I’ve had since 1997 was damaged whilst parked on the street. It looks like a car has reversed into it. You can see the damage from the photo. No note was left.

I haven’t contacted my insurance yet or gone to a body shop, before that I wanted to get some experience from others here. I have no experience of body repairs as I’ve never needed them done in my 35 years of driving.

My concern is if the cost of repair is higher than the value of the car the insurance might right it off. Thankfully the used prices of them has risen significantly in the last few years so I might be OK.

The bumper damage is not from the same incident. As it’s fibre glass I don’t know if that’s repairable or not, if not then that’s sourcing a replacement. They seem to be going for around £400 or more that I’ve found.

If the body shop can’t repair the front section and it needs a whole new section what’s confused me whilst searching is front and left wings are available, although I’ve not found the middle part. Mine looks like one piece to me. Did later models have separate parts?

Obviously when they do repair it they will respray it. Would the insurance by any wild chance cover the entire car respray as it won’t match.

Thank you, I appreciate your answers.

Philip
IMG_2753.jpeg

Looks from the pictures of the cracks that it’s been filled and repaired before? Any good body shop should be able to pull it back out and skim and respray i’d have thought. Presume they are steel and not fiberglass as I know nothing about them???

I haven’t contacted my insurance yet